When & How to start a Wyeast Smack Pack

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blitzer

Reaction score
Hey, so I'm going to throw down a Dr Smurto Landlord this weekend. I have hopefully a very newbie question, it is my first time using liquid yeast.

How long before my brew do I smack the wyeast smack pack? Also at what temperature do I keep it at during that time between smacking and pitching?

I read the back of the pack mentions 21-24c though I have also read smacking 24+ hours in advance, would it be fine to leave it at those temps for that long?

Thanks Ya'll!

Smack it and leave it at room temperature. It will be fine like that until you do your brew, for at least a week. No need to fret over it.

I smack mine up to a week before a brew, but I also build it up into a starter to increase the volume of my yeast.

mm yeah no equipment for a starter. I'll smack it at least tomorrow night and leave it at room temp then, brewing on Sunday.

I brewed a Dr Smurto's landlord recently and it is a great brew.

I did a 14L batch and pitched the smack pack that I smacked that morning. So about 10 hours smacking to pitching. The smack pack was only 2 weeks old.

I saved some of the slurry in some 300mL water bottles and used these in subsequent brews. The bigger beers with starters. I just make my starters in an old 2L port bottle. Ghetto Erlenmeyer flask.

If you already have the yeast I would smack it now.

You only need a 3ltr juice bottle, one small funnel, some gladwrap a rubber band and sanitiser. So easy...

Smack it tonight you think? I can do that.

Mclovin: So you just make some wort sterilise the bottle (plastic?) add the yeast and leave it at room temp? Do you stir it at all? I always hear people requiring stir plates etc..