Whats In The Glass (commercial)

Had my first Unibroue last night. Started with the Blanche de Chambly . Great example of the style. Will get through a couple more Unibroue (in different styles) over the weekend.

I hope you're not mowing lawns tomorrow Eric.
:lol: , I sure did Greg, I think I will fall asleep aftermy second beer, oh well, better get into it now.

ok i know its not a beer but i need to show this one as its what im finishing off with tonite.
its a glass of mead that i brought back with me from my honeymoon.
damn its smooth and has a real honey note. im inspired now to try and replicate it.
23012010104.jpg

Just thought I would grab a few to take home from the wheaty!

View attachment 34956

:D...I partook in a Mikkeller Jackie Brown the week before last at the Wheaty myself. I must say I thought it was a sensational beer. Did you like it, Phillip? I thought it was quite a complex beer, and an excellent interpretation, although a little outside the box, of the style

Mildura Brewery
Mallee Bull - Heavy

DSCN3610.JPG

Subtle initial grassy like aroma

Good balanced bitterness that dissipates rather quickly on the tongue.

Light amber / golden in colour.

Thin head the also dissipates quickly. Medium carbonation.

Thin bodied almost lager like this brew. At 5.8% Alcohol, not too shabby at all, not quite a session beer, but a nice drop. A little too commercialised imo...

ok i know its not a beer but i need to show this one as its what im finishing off with tonite.
its a glass of mead that i brought back with me from my honeymoon.
damn its smooth and has a real honey note. im inspired now to try and replicate it.
23012010104.jpg

Damn! I have been there and didn't notice this. Did a full lap of the island too. :(

Reminds me i should dust of the 5L demi-johns and crank out another of your raspberry cysers and have a crack at a mead.

Chateau Dorrien in the Barossa Valley make nice meads which is a good thing since their wines are average.

Damn! I have been there and didn't notice this. Did a full lap of the island too. :(

Reminds me i should dust of the 5L demi-johns and crank out another of your raspberry cysers and have a crack at a mead.

Chateau Dorrien in the Barossa Valley make nice meads which is a good thing since their wines are average.
i picked it up in Scotland while i was there
i need to do the same mate its been too long between batches for me.
ive been to chateau dorrien when i was down there about 4 years ago. they were nice meads but your right about their meads

Hops_002.jpg
Batemans Dark Lord (not to be confused with the Three Floyds beer)
Quite liked this porter. Thick, nutty, pretty sweet yet roasty enough to balance

Hops_011.jpg
Etienne Dupont Organic Cidre Bouch Brut de Normandie...try saying that 3 times fast.
Have only tried a couple of French ciders in my time. This one would probably rank the highest. Quite light and somewhat sweet, but definately packed full of funky farmhouse/barnyard and horsiness of a lambic, without the overt tartness and vicious carbonation. Wouldn't mind trying a few more like this.

Here are two I had over the last few days...

Mikeller Big Worse Barely Wine. All I would expect from a BW. Bewdiful!

Dues. This is probably the most interesting beer I have ever had.. Got aromas of pepper, spice and apple.. Quite think on the palete (maybe due to the high carbonation) for such a light colour beer.

Also Had a Murrays 2IPA on Australia Day... i think I want to marry this beer...

Hannah_159.jpg

Hannah_160.jpg

Here are two I had over the last few days...

Mikeller Big Worse Barely Wine. All I would expect from a BW. Bewdiful!

Dues. This is probably the most interesting beer I have ever had.. Got aromas of pepper, spice and apple.. Quite think on the palete (maybe due to the high carbonation) for such a light colour beer.

Also Had a Murrays 2IPA on Australia Day... i think I want to marry this beer...

Big Worse comes in a green bottle?! Crazy.

Also, Murrays 2IPA? Where'd you get that from?

its was my last of 2 750ml "bomber" bottles I bought when they did their release last year :( ..
Sep/Oct I think it was...

you would probably struggle to find any in bottles until the next release...

Ah ok, sure. I had a couple last year when they came out.

Anyone feel like coming up with a Icon 2IPA clone?

Some ones I picked up at Warners Bay yesterday.

Have not heard of the EKIM Viking IPA. Label says it was brewed at the Happy Goblin Brewery, but I have not heard of it before.

Feb_Collection.JPG

Have not heard of the EKIM Viking IPA. Label says it was brewed at the Happy Goblin Brewery, but I have not heard of it before.
Really?
I had no idea they brewed anything else other the ones mentioned on their site. Still haven't seen his ginger beer yet.

erdinger.jpg

One that I picked up at my local (decent) bottlo, not bad not as "fruity" as weihenstephan but a decent drop, got a Brew Boys Maiden Ale to try as well. On you tube in the background looking at snippets of the knifes new opera about darwin's origin of species, gotta love those crazy swedes

Jake_002.jpg
Brewdog Hop Rocker
Quite liked this lager. Good hop flavour and aroma, quite fruity in a tropical way yet balanced with some malt. Shame the bottle was past its best before.

Jake_003.jpg
James Cook Spruce Beer
This was a particularly wierd one. Essentially an English bitter with spruce and tea tree instead of hops. Treacle-like malts are quite thick and sweet yet there's a good amount of balance and flavour provided by the additives, quite herbaceous, rosemary/thyme-like, bit of eucylyptus and wood in there. Very unique beer but probably not the kind of thing you could have a few of.

Jake_006.jpg
Fraoch Heather Ale
Could well be the hardest to describe beer i've ever tasted.
Malty base, typical of Scottish ale, of which the maltiness is hard enough to describe...caramels, honey, peat, woodiness...on top of that you have a sort of hay and dried flower/pot pourri character that is quite pleasant yet somewhat dry and lends a degree of balance to the beer. Quite enjoyed it, as far as to recommend it to anyone that hasn't tried it and see's it in a bottle o.

Some ones I picked up at Warners Bay yesterday.

G'day Joshua my names mike I actually brew Ekim Viking Ipa. If you check my new blog at: www.ekimbrewing.wordpress.com it will tell you a bit about us. Hope you enjoy the beer I am still fiddling with the recipe a bit.Any questions or comments please let me know.

Cheers mike
Ekim Brewing Co

So Mike can I buy a Carton ? sounds like my kinda brew