What Og And Size For Starter Using Dry Yeast?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barley Belly

Head Brewer - Barley Belly Brewery
Reaction score
I searched and read up all about making yeast starters but I still have a couple of questions unanswered.

I'm looking a doing a high OG (around 1070) Chocolate Porter.
I've never used starters before, just sprinkled the packet onto the wort.

My yeast I'm using is a 15g Brewcellar English Ale Yeast.

What should the OG of my starter wort be considering I will be pitching it eventually into a Wort around 1070?

What volume of starter wort should I start with for 15g dry yeast, before stepping up to 1 litre before pitching?

The link TB gave states 1040, and the wyeast instructions say the same. mrmalty.com says the same thing, and advises not to go over 1040 even if for high OG beers. He expanded on this in an article (or it might have been a podcast) elswhere (unfortunately I can't remember where), going into more detail, specificaly in relation to high gravity beer, and why the starter should still not exceed 1040. Something to do with stress on the yeast during the reproductive phase, but time has made me hazy on the specifics.

I would suggest not using a starter.
You did not mention your batch size , but 15gm of dry yeast (fresh etc) will be sufficient for 25-40 litres of ale wort, dependant on gravity. 1070 is not that high so your 15gm will be fine for a single batch.
I am not going to enter the "is a single pack/vial enough for 19 litres of normal gravity wort" argument right now.