What Is The Ideal Time To Condition?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mickpc

Reaction score
Ok, I am building up my little cellar, and am wondering what is the ideal time to cellar most beers for? Also how long will they last in total?

Cheers Mick

I'm no expert but I've had people tell me that they've put beers down for 6-12 months and at the 12 month phase the beers were so good they wished they didn't start drinking them earlier.

I've got 2 on at the moment that I'm planning to leave for at least 4 months to condition. But I willl be drinking 1/month to see what they're doing.

I think about 12 months would be the upper limit of their shelf life though.

Ok, I am building up my little cellar, and am wondering what is the ideal time to cellar most beers for? Also how long will they last in total?

Cheers Mick

Completely depends on the kind of beer. If it's darker and/or high alcohol or has a lot of different flavours going on it will probably benefit from some kind of maturation.

If it's highly hopped, it can go either way - the hop aroma and bitterness will settle out. A lot of british ales were traditionally highly hopped, often dry hopped (mainly for preservation) and then stored for several months minimum but highly hopped beers can also have a wonderful freshness and flavour.

If it's a low hopped beer like a weizen then it's probably best drunk fresh.

Make a few styles, set some aside for ageing and see how they work in 6 months time. If they are good leave a couple more for another 6 months.

I make that sound easy - I struggle to leave most of mine anywhere close to that long although it's usually a minimum of 4 weeks before I put them in the bottle.