Water Level Sensors

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benno1973

Beer Idiot
Reaction score
Just wondering how people with automated breweries are able to sense water levels? I understand it can be done using a capacitive approach, where the volume of water affects the conduction between two probes? Is this right?

I'd be interested in putting something together that can measure volume in my HLT and boil kettle using probes or the like. And yes, I can (and do) use a graduated measuring stick, but it's another step I'd like to take towards automating parts of my brewery. Ideally I'd like to be able to read the results into a computer via RS232 or something, but not sure what's involved with that

I have no background in electronics, and don't even understand the stuff, but I did manage to put together a tight arse stir plate, so simple things I can manage. And I'd like to learn, so if it's a simple project, I'd love to give it a go. I have a background in IT, but more in software development, which means I know nothing about hardware or the electronics side. I'd go nowhere near mains power, but small scale stuff (i.e. as long as I can't kill myself) I'd love to play around with.

I notice that Jaycar are selling this device which measures water levels in water tanks - not sure if this sort of thing might be appropriate as a starting point, but I'd like to be able to get a volume readout rather than just a high/med/low 'indicator' so I guess some tweaking would be required. But is that sort of thing possible?