Using Left Over Hops

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JestersDarts

I (heart) Darts
Reaction score
G'Day Brewers -

I have a bunch of leftover hops, and a free day coming up, so I am looking for a recipe that can hopefully use them all up. I am not very good at recipe formulation, so was hoping on some suggestions..
a stout?
some sort of IPA?

I can brew up to around 45L batches, but any size would suffice.

The hops I have are as follows:

40g Pacific Gem 17.8%AA Dried Flowers
30g Styrian Goldings NZ 4.4%AA Dried Flowers
40g Amarillo 8.2%AA pellets
70g East Kent Goldings 6.5%AA pellets
40g POR 9%AA pellets
100g homegrown POR unknown%AA dried flowers
80g Cascade 8%AA pellets

any pointers would be appreciated!

Pacific Gem, EKG & Styrian for an IPA

Cascade & Amarillo for an APA

POR? No idea, im not a fan personally.

Sounds like a good plan. :icon_cheers:

Maybe a simple Aussie Ale with POR bittering to have a beer mates that rock up that think Crown Lager is the greatest drink? :drinks:

I recently did a "clean out the hops" brew with a stack of NZ hops. 23L length.

Try doing a single malt plus sugaz or maize to make a strong 6% ABV lager-coloured beer, no spec malts.

Some of the Pacific Gem for bittering - maybe only 10g to encourage break formation.

Throw in ALL the Styrian, Amarillo and Cascade at 10 minutes and ferment with US-05 or Wy 1056

Looks like a lager, tastes like yo bitch, yall :icon_drool2:

kiwi_gold__Large_.JPG

For another brew, POR and EKG all the way.

Surely have a crack at an IIPA mate for the SA highly hopped mini swap!

Surely have a crack at an IIPA mate for the SA highly hopped mini swap!

ooh is this part of the autumn case swap?

I like the idea of the single malt ale, bittered with the Pacific Gem and the remainder at 10 minutes..