'tipping' Hop Bines

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bongchitis

Reaction score
G'Day all,

I'm a bit of a gardener and I am growing Cascade and Goldings hops in large 1/2 wine barrels. It is my first try and they have only shot up in the last 2 weeks but already I know they are going to outgrow the location very quickly in terms of height which leads me to the question:

Can you nip out the growing tips of the bine to induce side branching and minimise the overall size of the plant?

This is done with a wide variety of plants to maintain a compact nature and to increase the homogenity and yield of flowers. You don't get huge flowers but heaps of medium sized ones.

I have had a quick look and everyone who writes about hop growing advocates giving them height, no real mention of other stratagies.

I was just wondering what people thought and if anyone had experience doing this with hops.

Any advice would be great.

Cheers all................Bongchitis

I've thought about growing hops and winding them back and forth on a grate thing to cover a big square area... kind of like 'SOG' style...even to do it under lights indoors...

Well the 'hops cousin' and growing methods is what made me think of it.

I like the SOG/SCROG setup. Looks great in full swing and would be easily achievable to reduce height, but to work as a yield maximiser you need multiple growth tips and I guess thats where the tipping comes in.

Indoor hops would be great, perpetual hop garden!... and as with hydro 'cousins', they are grown to their latent potential and thus resins and oils are maximised. I guess for hops that means more bang for your buck for bitering, flavour and aroma!