The Mighty Clarence Is In Flood

Ducatiboy stu

Now that the QLD'rs have had a bit of a sook about their little shower, The Mightly Clarence River ( The biggest river system on the eastern seaboard ) is in flood and its not a bad one either.

We are flooded in at our front gate, with a water height at about 1.5 mtrs

We made it in town to get supplies, like wine etc and the water was about 40cm below the levee bank which made for a spectacular sight.

The Pacific Highway is well and trulley closed, with 2 sections either side of Grafton under 2m+ of water, some of the bilboards are even fully submerged..

And its still Fckn raining.... :ph34r:

Oh well, thank the lord for beer, gas and wine....oh...and food... :rolleyes:

Pics are on the way...

gday Stu,

A mighty river it is, (lived in Yamba for over 4 years, still miss the Jew fishing :( )

hope the rain stops flowing before the beer does :icon_cheers:

Yard

The parents are flooded in on their property west of Kempsey, and the Macleay is still to peak in town......

They are well stocked and spent all of yesterday shifting their cattle to the the higher points of the property.

It's supposed to peak higher than the 2001 floods, and they gave the CBD of Kempsey a nice 1m high canal system...

As long as your ok mate.

Was a bit worried you may have gone under. Was going to give you a ring

Jew fish and Clarence river prawns with Wooli oysters...Noice.. :icon_drunk:

The big issues with the Clarence is the huge volume of water in it ( at Grafton the river is about 500m wide, and it still has 40km before it hits the coast )and how it spreads out in the lower sections, causing it to back flood. We are going to be flooded for days, maybe a week or 2 if you live further towards the sea.

Lucky it only happens every 10yrs... :icon_chickcheers:

Water has got higher....almost 3m deep at the front gate.... :(

Clarence has fallen about 1 m in 36 hrs.... :unsure:

That's your second inundation since Christmas, would that be right? Actually it's probably a good exercise because when the Northern Rivers eventually get included into their rightful place in Queensland and we stick wiers over them to supply Greater Brisbane, many of the settlements will have to be located to higher ground anyway. ;)

We get local flooding that last about 12hrs, but this is major..

And as for daming the Clarence....

Only a QlD'r would think of putting a dam or weir on a dry section of the river :lol: where it doesnt flow ...Where they wanted to put it only flows every couple of years, and we only get big floods every 10yrs..

Stu, do you know if the Glen Innes road is open?

In-laws are trying to get home from Ballina tommorrow.