Temperature Control

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

primusbrew

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am new to brewing and currently having problems with maintaining the temperature of my brew, particularly for lagers where you need a low temp. I have recently purchased a belt heater as my brews where falling down to below ten degrees but with the belt heater it sends it up to 26 degrees. Which I've heard destroys a lager.

Any advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

only use the heat belt in short bursts. either manual switch on/off ow buy a cheap timer (usually used to turn TV etc on/off while your away). or get yourself a temp control from one the AHB sponsors.

I just manual use my heat mat and belt. turn on for a couple of hours then turn off. although ive never used if for a lager, only ales. my lagers stay nice and cold.

Hey guys, I am new to brewing and currently having problems with maintaining the temperature of my brew, particularly for lagers where you need a low temp. I have recently purchased a belt heater as my brews where falling down to below ten degrees but with the belt heater it sends it up to 26 degrees. Which I've heard destroys a lager.

Any advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

less than 10 degrees is good for a lager.

A trick for the heat belt is to move it up the fermenter. The higher up the less it will heat the whole brew. Well that is what I've been told by G&G. It seemed to work for me, but I only got about a 6-8 degree increase from it, not 16!

One of those $5 timers from bunnings might be a good idea. They have the wheel with 30min blocks you should be able to get some good control with that.