Tasting Order

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hefty

Reaction score
I've read a few books of late, the main one being "The Brewmaster's Table" by Garret Oliver of Boston Brewery, which talk about matching beer with food but also about tasting beers in a logical order in terms of flavour.
I've also taken up the practice recently of buying two beers I've never tried before each time I go to a party so I can learn a little more about different styles.
I'm going to my sister-in-law's 30th tonight and I've bought a Baron's ESB (Dan Murphy's didn't have many notable actual English ales) and a Weihenstephan Traditional Dunkel.
So my question is what would you do?:
Would you try the ESB first and then the Dunkel because it will likely have a stronger and fuller malt character?
Or,
Would you try the Dunkel first and then the ESB as it will likely still have a reasonably strong malt character but also a greater hops bitterness?

So, let's see who can sway me? :D

HABAHAGD! :icon_cheers:
Jono.

Generally go go from light coloured/low hopped to dark coloured/heavy hopping.

As the ESB is light in colour but highly hopped compared to the dunkel which is dark coloured/low hopped i'd go the dunkel 1st.

If you have the ESB then the Dunkel, you're palate will be confused by the high hopping rates of the ESB and you wont get the full flavour of the dunkel. Much like brushing your teeth and having Milk or OJ. :)

I bought those exact beers from DM's last friday night, unfortunatly I drank them the other way around so I didn't get much from the Dunkel, deff go that first

Cheers guys!
Yeah, I was already leaning towards the Dunkel first in my head. You're spot on Fourstar, the lighter colour of the ESB threw me a little.

HABAHAGD :icon_cheers:
Jono

Edit: spelled my cheers icon code wrong!