Sodium Percabonate

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thesunsettree

Drink Drank Drunk
Reaction score
hi all,

i have been filtering for a couple of years now and have always resisted using napisan to clean my filter with. it may be stupid but i just felt weird about using it especially when you read the ingredients list and it says 30% sod perc and doesnt name any of the other ingredients, whats the other 70%??? anyway i have as thoroughly as possible cleaned my filter with pink and sanitiser and rinsed well and stored in the back of my kegerator were it usually ices up lightly. i feel as though it has been cleaned well enough to stave off any major issues. however recently i filtered a few stouts and other dark beers and likewise my filter looked quite the worse for wear. so i submitted and soaked it in napisan overnight and thoroughly back flushed it with warm water, it has come up so incredibly clean it looks like new!! its so tempting to use it regularly but i still feel a bit weird about using it, i know you can buy pure sod perc from some places but i cant get it from lhbs. my missus came home with this (photo attached) today and it has full ingredient listing - mineral salts, sod perc, sod bicarb, citrates, biodegradable surfactant (whatever the fk that is). maybe its no better, maybe its worse - dunno, it is supposed to be eco friendly, and totes no nasty chemicals. it was about $8ish from woolies (no affiliation - actually used to work for them and i hate the c#%ts). maybe this is helpful to someone else, maybe someone can tell me i'm playing with my dick. anyway i put it out there, any thoughts

cheers
matt sod_perc.jpg

I nearly bought that recently. Looks good.

The woollies brand is completely biodegradeable if that helps.