Scared To Drink My Tasty Brew!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerBaron89

Reaction score
Aye guys

I've been drinking my beer which is roughly 2 weeks bottled. I took them to a mates house, and they taste awesome. However, having only about 3 or 4 beers, i felt really really sick the next day. I couldn't get off the floor without thinking i was going to throw up.

I've been drinking since i was 16, and once (stupid teenagers) was dared to drink a schooner of 60% moonshine. Did not throw up (My liver was really bad for a few weeks though). The things you do when you are young...

Anyways, so i am pretty certain its the beer. I am new to homebrew, and as lovely as it tastes i am scared to drink more than one in fear that i will be on the ground unable to get up for work/tafe the next day.

The instructions to my brew says its safe to drink in this timeframe... Coopers Draught... Is it?
Anyways, any help would be awesome.

Cheers,
The Beer Baron

What temperature did the beer ferment at?
Too high can give you some fusel alcohols which give a nasty headache.

Did you drink out of the Bottle and/or happen to mix all the sediment through your beer? :icon_vomit:

unfortunately not enough info here to tell.

as previously mentioned, could have been ferment temp or the yeast in the beer

too much yeast in the beer doesn't work well with some foods ( fruit especially apparently) and can make you very ill

You said it tasted alright - anything particular you remember about the taste as it might give some of the more experienced brewers an idea of what caused this.

It fermented very quickly... mainly 27' in the morning... 24' in the night.