Sorry mate, I was just taking the piss regarding the spelling...citymorgue2 said:which part? The top part should be self explanatory bar a few spelking mistakes.
The 2nd part is becuase in another thread some life of brian jokes are going on and I couldnt resist making one in here.
I'd like to know where the hell I can buy a pound of hops for $20...seriously, I would. I'm currently paying about $9 for 100gNick JD said:I'd like to buy a pound for ~$20. Like the kiwis do.
Ross buys $11 pounds of Cascade and sells them for $9.90 per 90g. That's $50
So yeah - quite the markup. I have no worries with this - but why not sell Cascade for $30 a pound instead of $45?
Then I'd not buy straight from America.
How much for a pound of B Saaz?Yob said:
Kiwis can't buy pounds of kiwi hops?wbosher said:I'd like to know where the hell I can buy a pound of hops for $20...seriously, I would. I'm currently paying about $9 for 100g
You bloody Kiwis would just jump the fence and steal it :beer:wbosher said:I'd like to know where the hell I can buy a pound of hops for $20...seriously, I would. I'm currently pay about $9 for 100g
But another one - check the overseas price first.wbosher said:My airlock is not bubbling, what should I do?
Over here a thong is something completely different. :lol:Gryphon Brewing said:You bloody Kiwis would just jump the fence and steal it :beer:
and my thongs, What is it with you blokes and thongs ?
Nev
Sure we probably can, just don't know where.Nick JD said:Kiwis can't buy pounds of kiwi hops?
I have my Riwaka.. did you miss that diddums?Nick JD said:How much for a pound of B Saaz?
Where did you buy it from?Yob said:I have my Riwaka.. did you miss that diddums?
I agree. But only if they aren't taking the piss.Westaussiebrewer said:the way i see it is if you need / want something bad enough you will pay what the retailer is asking simply because if you didnt need it you wouldnt be buying it.
sometimes i dont mind paying a little bit more simply because generaly the service that comes with it from the likes of Nev, ciro and ross any anyone else i have delt with has been great.
simply put yes it costs more to purchase here in australia but why hot help out the guys that are here that do help us ???
Nick JD said:I agree. But only if they aren't taking the piss.
As an example, an old guy was in Craftbrewer last week buying a $70 temp controller. Now we've all bough the exellent STC 1000 for $16-$20, and I said nothing and watched it get rung up - and I assume it's a much better quality product (when my STC is still working perfectly), but fark me, there's a big difference between $75 and $16.
So, I'll continue to shop wisely. Retailers may see it as shopping like a wise arse - I see it as questioning the status quo and voting with one's wallet.
Craftbrewer is a great shop, I'm always spruiking their products ... when they are better than others. My refractometer is the same as theirs for less than half the price. Etc.
Actually, it's more like 11% if you do the reverse calculation.Ross said:Wrong again... We stock quite a few products bought from the USA at exactly the same price that you brewers can purchase for. Not only that, but we have to add 10% gst when we sell, so we are already 10% behind the game before we make any margin. We could just not stock these items, but fortunately, whereas we are unlikely to make a sale to computer savy individuals that have no desire to support Australian business, we have many customers that aren't or like/prefer dealing with us & understand that without a margin we don't exsist.
Do you buy any meat from the supermarket or local shops Nick, or do you buy it all direct from the farm because of the money grabbing retailers in the middle?
I have no problem with people buying direct from source, or anywhere they like, just get a little tired of the constant attacks from some quarters that we are money grabbing bastards. Our business model is based on having the lowest prices we can sustain, but unfortunately (unless we buy up all the chinese factories & USA hop farms) we cannot always be the cheapest.