Refractometer different on SG to hydrometer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brettman2

Reaction score
I have been using a hydrometer for years and finally lashed out and got a refractometer recently. I know that after the wort starts to ferment, the refractometer will not read accurately. But from what I have understood, the two instruments should read the same on starting gravity.I have noticed a discrepancy of between 3 and 5 points between the refract and hydrometer. (The hydrometer reads higher than the refract.) I have checked both with distilled water and they both read 1000. Does anyone have a similar problem or know if this is to be expected? Thanks

I'm no expert by any means but here goes.

My refractometer only reads in Brix. I have to use software to convert this to an S.G. reading. To make it accurate I set the refrac to 0 Brix in distilled water. I then prepared a 1.030 solution with malt extract, confirmed with the hydro and then took a Brix reading. I put this reading into the software and it calculates a correction factor. Every time thereafter I can just use the Brix and software to tell me what the hydro would read. I use this during mash/boil etc; basically pre-ferment. During fermentation and after I use the hydro only.

Barge said:
I'm no expert by any means but here goes.