Records

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sinfathisar

Reaction score
Hi all

I am new to brewing but I have now made a few batches of beer, ginger beer, apple cider and lemonade - all from kits. At this stage I am writing in coloured pen on the lids of the bottles to differentiate the contents. Is there an easier way?? Oh I should add that I have just come to the realisation that I should be keeping notes - bit slow me :rolleyes:

I used Ianh's spreadsheet for record keeping before I splashed out for beersmith. Have a look through this thread, the latest version is towards the end somewhere.

For labelling I just use a sharpie & write something different for each batch.

I used Ianh's spreadsheet for record keeping before I splashed out for beersmith. Have a look through this thread, the latest version is towards the end somewhere.

For labelling I just use a sharpie & write something different for each batch.

Thanks - it is the actual labelling I am trying to find a simpler way for - like you I use a sharpie and I can get flavour (ie L = lemonade, AC = apple cider etc) on it and the date bottled eg Dec '10 but it is getting increasingly more difficult to get the white tops. I have only found Brigalow that do the white tops and most supermarkets are getting out of their home brew supplies section :-(

I have considered using tape on the bottles but not sure how well that would work.

What info do you put on your tops if I may ask?

Sorry, I use glass bottles so have the gold coloured tops. Can't help with the black lids, maybe a sharpie would write on the bottles? I just put on a letter or 2 & remember which batch it is (hopefully). That's where the record keeping comes into it.

I record batch number and type on the lid in a silver sharpie

Here is the beer I just opened.
capexample.JPG