RecipeDB - Aussie Ale

Kai

Fermentation Assistant

Aussie Ale

Ale - English Pale Ale
All Grain
* * * * * 1 Votes

Brewer's Notes

Half-size batch brewed in the kitchen, second place in the 2005 mash paddle competition. 65°C mash, 20°C ferment. Slightly concentrated boil so IBUs might be a little lower Very clean and neutral beer. FG 1.008

Malt & Fermentables

% KG Fermentable
2.5 kg JWM Traditional Ale Malt
0.25 kg JWM Wheat Malt
0.125 kg JWM Caramalt

Hops

Time Grams Variety Form AA
20 g Goldings, East Kent (Pellet, 5.0AA%, 60mins)

Yeast

150 ml Coopers - Cooper Ale
11L Batch Size

Brew Details

• Original Gravity 1.046 (calc)
  • Final Gravity 1.011 (calc)
  • Bitterness 23.9 IBU
  • Efficiency 55%
  • Alcohol 4.55%
  • Colour 14 EBC

Fermentation

• Primary 7 days
  • Secondary 7 days
  • Conditioning 4 days

Gday

I brewed this one a few weeks ago and its a ripper nice easy drink after a hard day at work Ive been searching for one like this and I think Ill make it one of my session beers, cheers for sharing it Kai .

Cheers Geoff

Thanks aspro, that an old one but I still reckon it's a good one. Sometimes simple works really well.

I have almost exactly the same recipe currently in the fermenter. Only diff is Green Bullet for bittering to about 23 IBU.

I thought the Trad Ale (first time used) was great to work with, beautiful clear runoffs, high efficiency. Only thing for this style I thought the colour a bit dark, more like Maris Otter. Still think it'll make a fine beer, but next time I might try cutting it with a Pils malt. (Unless it turns out to be utterly awesome, of course... :chug: )

I didn't mention the 20% sugar in mine, as I'm aiming for a CPA clone.