Recipe Help.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chemacky

Reaction score
G'day, I'm thinking about this recipe I stumbled across some time ago, but I need a bit of help.

1 can Coopers Canadian Blonde
1kg Coopers Brew Enhancer #2 (500g Dextrose, 250g Light dried malt, 250g Maltodextrin)
300g Honey
250g Light Dried Malt
12g Pride of Ringwood hops
100g Carapils grain

I'm thinking that since POR hops is out at craftbrewer that it might be easy to change that to another hop. Any suggestions? I have little to no experience with hops, so any advice along with a suggestion is more than welcome (encouraged even!!).

And secondly, I am assuming that this recipe uses the kit yeast, since it says nothing else. I'm looking at using something other thna the included kit yeast for once, and again was looking for a suggestion!

Other than that, I think I've got the rest of it down. But just to make sure - here is the description of steeping grain I found, and I feel i could follow fairly easily. Is this accurately what I should be doing with the carapils grain? (I realise it's in stupid measurements.)

IF USING A SAUCEPAN AND COLANDER OR STRAINER:

1. Put 3 quarts of water in a large saucepan and add all of the grains to the water.

2. Place the pot on your stove and turn the heat on medium. Stir the grain mixture occasionally as it heats.

3. When the grain mixture has barely started to simmer, immediately turn the heat off. DO NOT BOIL the grain mixture- it will detract from the quality of your beer (boiling will release excess tannins from the grains which will give the finished beer an astringent aftertaste). If you have a thermometer, it is best to heat the grain mixture to just 160 oF and then turn off the heat.