Reasons for Beer too bitter (some, not all)?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nazareh

Reaction score
Hey folks,

I just started brewing and my first batch was a pale ale, and in fact, it turned out much better than I though it would be, being it my first. However,although some of them are really good and go down very smoothly, others are very bitter. Especially the aftertaste. It's not something undrinkable, but nothing like some of the others. Any ideas of what could it be?

Thanks

Nazareh

There are so many possibilities. I'm going to assume you're brewing a can with a kilogram of some kind of fermentables, like dextrose or a coopers brew enhancer etc, as you're a newbie.
Bitterness as a proper beer descriptor comes from hops (or hop extract, but that's a story for another day). I am also assuming you didn't boil any extra hops with your kit and kilo.
The kits themselves will have the bitterness about right, as you have seen with your pale ale.
Did you happen to do a beer which actually is higher in bitterness, for example an IPA kit? These are meant to be higher in bitterness. If its tart or
A 'bitter' aftertaste if really undesirable and not to style, but can drink it just, probably means you have a slight infection. Cleaning and sanitising is key in making good beer.
You might also get this off 'bitterness' if you've tried to make your beer high in alcohol by adding extra fermentables to the can over and above the 1kg and still used only the one packet of yeast.
The other thing new brewers don't normally know, is temperature control is really important. If you brewed your beer too hot, this can also lead to off flavours which you may perceive as bitter.