Racking Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akkasoothy

Reaction score
what r the benifets off racking beer to a second fermenter ?? i have never done this before. i read that u should also add about 100g off suger to the secondary when u rack it?!!

try running a search on

racking
bulk priming
cold conditioning

you'll find enough reading for a week :)

You needn't add sugar to the secondary fermenter, unless you plan to immediately bottle from that fermenter. To rack the beer off it's yeast cake after the krausen (yeast layer on top of beer) has subsided helps to prevent off flavours (like vegemite or other strange yeast flavours) from the yeast leaching back into the beer if you plan to age it for a while before bottling. The sugar addition you're thinking of is an alternative to bottle priming, and is known as "bulk priming". You get a much more even and deliberate carbonation this way.

Theres a carbonation calculator on hbd.org/recipator that helps you figure out how much sugar you want to add.

I just rack to clear, put in fridge for 3 days, clear as. And dump a new cube in the cake.
If I wasn't dumping a cube on the old cake I'd just put the primary in the fridge to clear it a bit quicker.
Cheers.

Once upon a time there was a land where all was green. The people who lived in the green land were enthusiastic about brewing but got a bit silly sometimes. The rulers of the green land ran a microbrewery and knew a lot about brewing and were very open about sharing advice. The rulers of the green land had tasted a lot of samples of beer kept at 27 degrees, which suffered from autolysis. Thus, the rulers of the green land decreed that racking was good, to defeat the evil autolysis, especially at three quarters gravity, and that some oxidation in transfer was also good.