Poor Mash Efficiency

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mister clark

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm new to brewing and have just finished up my first brew day but experienced poor mash efficiency using a 20L braumeister.

A quick calculation puts my pre-boil gravity at 61% and post boil in the same ball park.

I appreciate being an absolute beginner that any number of things could have caused this but I *think* it may have been the grain.

To my eye the grain didn't look all that well crushed, but, again, not too sure.

Not sure if it helps, but, I've attached a picture.

Other pertinent details:

Grain bill: 5.73KG
Mash volume: 25L
Sparge Volume: 5L

Any ideas as to where I may have gone wrong would be much appreciated and I hope I've included enough info :)

Thanks in advance, Mr C.

IMG_20160126_001343.jpg

IMG_20160126_001401.jpg

G'day Mister clark,

Buy zooming in on the pics I think you are correct in saying that you efficiency has been affected by a poor crush.

There seems to be a number of whole grains still intact and in these will be trapped valuable sugars for your wort.

If you have your own mill then ensure the gap is set to around 1.1mm to 1.2mm. Or if the local HBS is doing the job then ask them to mill at that setting. Most HB Shops tend to mill a little finer than the 1.1mm required for the BM and this may cause wort fountains in beers with a small grain bill.

I have a BM and my mill is set to 1.1mm and I get around 80% MASH efficiency, not to be confused with Brewhouse efficiency.
I also condition my grain prior to milling with a light spray of water so as to ensure most of the husks are in tact but the malt is exposed for conversion.

If you decide to wet the grain go very lightly with it as if overdone you will clog up your mill.