Overshot OG considerably...already changed but what to do in future.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Damn

Reaction score
Go easy with me as I'm only in my 2nd year apprenticeship with AHB mostly as my master.

I BIAB. I use beersmith as my brewing tool and are making more than my share of errors in my training. But I'm also making a few bloody tasty beers.

A recent plight of mine is my poor efficiency as described in http://aussiehomebrewer.com/topic/77963-trying-to-improve-my-efficiency/

On my last brew I had a considerable jump in expected OG. I think maybe squeezing the chit out of the BIABag may of been the major contributor.

My expected OG 1.060.......ended up with 22l of 1.067.
I was brewing an English IPA (not sure that helps).

So, in my bull at a gate technique, master out of sight and beersmith in my holster I made the following adjustments.

First, in beersmith, I adjusted the Tot Efficiency until the estimated OG matched mine of 1.067, then I adjusted the Batch size until it hit the expected OG. (2.4l additional required).
So I added 2.4l of preboiled water. I didn't remeasure my OG. But what I noticed is the IBU & EBC changed in beersmith (on reflection I expect it should). On pondering these changes I worried I may of buggered up the balance of the beer?

I will adjust my equipment profile for next brew so I can get more accurate results. But I'm wondering how you guys adjust your brew when you overshoot by so much? Should I of just left it alone?

Thanks for any opinions.

Damian.

Whenever I've over or under-shot my expected OG, I've just left it alone and so have ended up with a slightly higher or low abv beer.