Opinions/thoughts On Brew Issue

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lillywhite

Reaction score
Hi,

I haven't had this issue previously and by all counts nothing seems wrong with the beer, I do have one thought on the issue but thought I would ask the gallery for their/your opinion.

I brewed a Pilsner on the 4th of September, pitched with 23gms of S23 rehydrated.

Target OG 1.050, actual 1.046. Normally no prob getting up to .049/.050 but was distracted and boil went 10 minutes longer than scheduled, mash temp 66 degrees. Grain bill - 3800 Pils, 250 Munich, 200 Carahell and 200 Wheat. 20 litre batch.

Now I should mention I am an interstate truck driver so don't get to monitor temps etc during week.

I set my thermastat for 12 degrees, checked Monday prior to going to work and temp was sitting around 10 - 12 degrees, happy with that. Checked last weekend when I was home temp seemed to be closer to 10 but that should be fine.

Home today, 12 days in primary should be transfering wort to secondary. Take fermenter out of fridge and note that the thermometer on the fermenter has no reading (ie below 10 degrees), check dial thermometer in fridge and is reading 5-6 degrees.

Airlock (yes I still use one) still bubbling once every 15 - 30 seconds, krausen ring around fermenter and krausen still on wort. So yes wort is still fermenting, no off smells or flavour from wort.

Current SG reading is 1.030, after 12 days in primary.

My opinion is due to the lower temp fermentation is taking longer, unsure if even at 7 or 8 degrees SG should be that low after 12 days?

Action plan - raise temp back to 10 - 12 degree range, monitor over weekend and if still fermenting come Sunday (most likely) chew finger nails for week and re-evaluate next weekend when I get home and then transfer to secondary.