Obsession Or Hobby?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Does brewing control you or do you control brewing?

• Hobby

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Obsession

• Job

• Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Pete2501

Reaction score
I've been pretty busy lately and this has had me question how important things are so I can manage my time better.

It all started when I began wondering if brewing was a hobby or an obsession.

Now by definition a hobby is an activity or interest pursued for pleasure or relaxation and not as a main occupation. This is the category I fall into so far. I like brewing but it's not my job so surely it's a hobby?

Lightbulb! I've realised just how much time I spend reading about hops, grain, yeast, mashing, ways to mash, different ingredients, beer history and so on. I'm studying for my networking career and even still it's a close first as to what's thought about and practised more.

Now I'm a pretty over zealous kinda guy. Once I have a plan set in my head at times I won't change it. Even to the detriment of myself. I enjoy brewing but some times I don't have control over how much I talk, think and research.

I'm sure most brewers on a whole will find brewing is a Hobby, and for those like me it's an obsession the other half deals with.

Does brewing control you or do you control brewing?

keeps me awake at night sometimes thinking what to brew next.

keeps me awake at night sometimes thinking what to brew next.

Waiting for grains etc to come for my Fat Yak clone. I have been pacing around in high anticipation and finger tapping like crazy. Dreamt last night that after everthing was brewed I tipped it into my fermentor only to see I didn't put the tap in.
I think they classify that as a nightmare.

OBSESSION!!! :chug: