Nsw 2007 X-mas Case Swap

bloody typical! 27.5 longnecks! I was wringing it dry but just couldnt get 28. I'll keep the .5 yeast dreg longneck and will chuck in something else to make up 28.

I HATE BOTTLING!
Haha sounds familiar. Bottled mine over the weekend and managed to just get out the 28th bottle, but it does contain the odd chunk of hop. The other 27 seem alright.

1. Steve - (1a-Bo Pils) (1b-Bav Lager) (1c-English Bitter) (1-d Duvel Clone)
2. Stuster - English Summer Ale, WLP005
3. Fatgodzilla - possibly my first AG
4. Barramundi - APA (sorry guys due to time restraints its a kit beer, hoping to get an AG in for the swap but i doubt it)
5. Gulpa - APA, hopefully lawnmower style (US-05)
6. nifty - esb (WLP023)
7. KillerRx4 - Oatmeal stout
8. Peve - American Pale Ale - Golden - unless I have a last minute mind change
9. Steve (ACT) - Nelsons Bastard Ale (Nottingham) - Bottled n ready!
10. Brewer - Unsure as Yet
11. Punter- Summer Blonde
12. Kabooby- Belgian Dubbel (WLP550)
13. floppinab - English Bitter (Nottingham)
14. Josh
15. Oblomov - Belgian Dubbel
16.HomeBrewWorld.com- Unsure atm
17.Beerslayer- Unsure atm
18. goatherder - Czech Dark Lager
19. Keith
20. Trent - American Pale Ale
21. Thommo - no idea
22. Muggus - Armoured Hawk Ale (AAA)
23. monkeybusiness
24. MVZoom - Koelsch perhaps?
25. Tony - Golden Fleece NZ IPA or "The Sheep Shagger" for short. tongue.gif
26. n00ch - No idea at the moment.
27. crozdog - The Johnny Nash "I Can See Clearly Now" Bright Ale
28. redbeard - nfi2

So whats happening guys? Are the unsure people sure yet? Only 4 more weekends until 1 December B)

1. SJW - (1a-Bo Pils) (1b-Bav Lager) (1c-English Bitter) (1-d Duvel Clone)
3. Fatgodzilla - possibly my first AG
4. Barramundi - APA (sorry guys due to time restraints its a kit beer, hoping to get an AG in for the swap but i doubt it)
6. nifty - esb (WLP023)
14. Josh
19. Keith
21. Thommo - no idea
23. monkeybusiness
28. redbeard - nfi2

So whats happening guys? Are the unsure people sure yet? Only 4 more weekends until 1 December

3. Fatgodzilla - Ronald Reagan all American Ale .. Yanks do have something good to offer the world after all !
6. nifty - esb (WLP023)
14. Josh
19. Keith
21. Thommo - no idea
23. monkeybusiness
28. redbeard - nfi2

Dont rush them !!

Due to time restraints I'm going to put in a Foreign Extra Stout I originally brewed for the HAG case in here as its ready to bottle and I think the HAG case closes later so it gives me more time.

3. Fatgodzilla - Ronald Reagan all American Ale .. Yanks do have something good to offer the world after all !
6. nifty - esb (WLP023)
14. Josh
19. Keith
21. Thommo - no idea
23. monkeybusiness
26. n00ch - Foreign Extra Stout
28. redbeard - nfi2

4. Barramundi - SWAPALE (US-05) (sorry guys due to time restraints its a kit beer)(bottled 6/11/07) tasted ok into the bottle)
6. nifty - esb (WLP023)
14. Josh
19. Keith
21. Thommo - no idea
23. monkeybusiness
28. redbeard - nfi2

have the drop off points and swap location been sorted yet ??? (yes im too lazy to look through all the previous posts)

There are still a few NFI and unsures out there. Is everyone still ok for the swap or are we going to have some no shows :ph34r: .

Running out of time

Kabooby :)

yeah, ill have the swap beer ready, its a toss up between a esb & a au pale ale, might just need an extra week or 2 for carbing up :)

maybe they forgot they listed themselves :icon_drunk: <_<

all mine are bottled for both NSW and HAG swap.

Due to brewing these and an infection in the beer i had lined up for the keg..... im about to run out of drinking stock.

at least the bitter is starting to clear out enough to have a go at filtering it. Might have it gassed in a week.

Dan murphy here i come

My contribution is bubbling away, brewed last weekend. It will be ready on time, maybe not quite carbed though.

I'm feeling your pain Tony - two recent brews of mine are very substandard so I'm running low on stocks. With the fermenters full of case beers it will be a long while before I'll have full kegs again. I'm looking forward getting my hands on the cases...

Everytime I check this thread the temptation to crack open one of my case swap beers grows a bit more, and unfortunately I only bottled enough to for the swap. :blink:
On the plus side, i'm glad I made a backup entry, after cracking a bottle of my original entry, a "Mocha Stout", and finding it a bit disappointing.

4. Barramundi - SWAPALE (US-05) (sorry guys due to time restraints its a kit beer)(bottled 6/11/07) tasted ok into the bottle)
6. nifty - esb (WLP023)
14. Josh
19. Keith
21. Thommo - no idea
23. monkeybusiness - something like a foreign extra stout
28. redbeard - nfi2

Bottled mine last week. Its a stout (my usual drink of choice) of some description with my closest guess by style guidelines as a foreign extra stout. Tasted alright into the bottle but there seemed to be a hole in the flavour that I couldn't quite put my finger on. Still happy with the result though and hopefully it might get a little better with some weeks under its belt.

Best part is I made a double batch so I can do a bit of progressive tasting on the way up to Christmas :chug:

-monkeybusiness

I made 45 liters of both of mine. so i get half and get to try everyoneelses beers :)

I have my beer and drink it too :)

The sheep shagger should be a ripper but im a bit nervous about the ESB for the HAG swap

but from memmory the 1318 was rough from the firmenter but smoothed out really well. fingers crossed.

the Sheep Shagger is a bit hazy in the bottle, probably from all those hop flowers but time fixes these things. I recon it will be ready to drink at midday, 25th december with lunch. I will be into it then.

Im tempted to crack one to try it but a 7 to 8% beer with lots of hops is going to be a waste to drink at 2 weeks in the bottle.

late december, january it will be good i recon

the Sheep Shagger is a bit hazy in the bottle, probably from all those hop flowers but time fixes these things. I recon it will be ready to drink at midday, 25th december with lunch. I will be into it then.

Im tempted to crack one to try it but a 7 to 8% beer with lots of hops is going to be a waste to drink at 2 weeks in the bottle.

late december, january it will be good i recon
In that case I might leave your Sheep Shagger for next year Tony. Chances are I probably won't get much of chance to try any of the case swap beers before I leave for Europe late December. I'm sure they have plenty of nice beer over there though. :party:

I reckon mine is going to need the same sort of time for the flavour to develop. It finished at 1020 (from 1070) so I backed off on the priming to avoid bottle bombs! Last time I did this recipe it tasted best after about 6 months so the longer left the better.

Yes I am running low on stocks as well. After bottling 50 bottles last week for the NSW and MALE swap I wont be doing that again soon.
I have a keg of Belgian and a keg of dark ale that are just about to run out and a half keg of outmeal stout. In desperate need of a beer for these summer days. Have to try for a brew day again this weekend.

Kabooby :)

Bump. Is everybody on the list still going to be able to make it? Only just over three weeks to go. :icon_cheers:

PS. Steve. You out there? Got my pm? :unsure:

Everyone appears to be struggling for x-mas drinking stock. Bad time to do a swap really. I am just glad I had heaps of reserve stock as I got infections in my 1st brew and in my back up one.
Maybe we should look at doing some random swaps next year and maybe in your local area, like the HAG (Hunter All Grainers) are doing soon. Would make getting together to do the swap a lot easier.
Anyway, this one is looking good so far!

I'm ready. bottled last Friday night. Tasting good but not as much body as I expected <_<

Doing 2 double brews this weekend to get the xmas stock ready :icon_cheers:

I vote to keep the xmas case as it's a great way to try a few different styles and compare and contrast. It just takes some planning and organisation on all participants behalf.

PS. Steve. You out there? Got my pm? :unsure:

Yeah I got it and replied. Prolly Saturday morning is best. I will call you Friday/Sat morning. Where are you staying? Got any spare milk crates?

Edit....Stuster im not going to put in my 28th bottle (the one that I will be getting back). Its a longneck single primed but I could only fill it half way. I dont want it blowing up in yer car. Is that ok?

Edit Edit.....anyone tried PM'ing those that are still in the NFI category to see if they are still in?