Nsw 2007 X-mas Case Swap

Just Mashed in the Sheep shagger. Love the smell of the Golden Promise malt. I really like it. It cracks well, husks stay whole and has a rich malty smell.

I opened the bag of NZ D-SAAZ. WOW. Im FWH'ing with 30 g and its sitting dry in the kettle ATM. Its all i can smell. Its awsome stuff.

HEre is the recipe to wet your apetites.

Golden Fleece IPA

A ProMash Recipe Report

BJCP Style and Style Guidelines
-------------------------------

14-B India Pale Ale, American IPA

Min OG: 1.056 Max OG: 1.075
Min IBU: 40 Max IBU: 90
Min Clr: 12 Max Clr: 30 Color in EBC

Recipe Specifics
----------------

Batch Size (L): 46.00 Wort Size (L): 46.00
Total Grain (kg): 13.50
Anticipated OG: 1.072 Plato: 17.56
Anticipated EBC: 17.7
Anticipated IBU: 69.5
Brewhouse Efficiency: 80 %
Wort Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential EBC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
92.6 12.50 kg. TF Golden Promise UK 1.037 6
3.7 0.50 kg. Weyermann Carared Germany 1.036 48
3.7 0.50 kg. TF Crystal UK 1.034 100

Potential represented as SG per pound per gallon.

Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
30.00 g. D SAAZ Pellet 5.60 9.3 First WH
50.00 g. Sothern Cross Whole 15.90 34.8 45 min.
30.00 g. B-Saaz Whole 6.80 4.8 15 min.
30.00 g. Nelson Sauvin Whole 11.90 8.5 15 min.
30.00 g. Pacific Hallertau Whole 6.50 4.6 15 min.
20.00 g. Sothern Cross Whole 15.90 7.5 15 min.
60.00 g. B-Saaz Whole 6.80 0.0 0 min.
60.00 g. Nelson Sauvin Whole 11.90 0.0 0 min.
60.00 g. Pacific Hallertau Whole 6.50 0.0 0 min.
20.00 g. Sothern Cross Whole 15.90 0.0 0 min.

Yeast US-05
-----

I recon its going to be tops.

Here's mine:

Recipe: 035 Belgian Dark Strong Ale
Style: Belgian Dark Strong Ale
TYPE: All Grain

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 30.00 L
Boil Size: 40.29 L
Estimated OG: 1.084 SG
Estimated Color: 38.0 EBC
Estimated IBU: 28.2 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 60.00 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
8.00 kg Pilsner, Malt Craft Export (Joe White) (3.Grain 66.12 %
1.00 kg Aromatic Malt (51.2 EBC) Grain 8.26 %
1.00 kg Wheat Malt, Malt Craft (Joe White) (3.5 EBGrain 8.26 %
0.60 kg Special B Malt (354.6 EBC) Grain 4.96 %
40.00 gm Styrian Goldings [5.40 %] (60 min) Hops 12.6 IBU
20.00 gm Styrian Goldings [3.70 %] (60 min) Hops 4.3 IBU
35.00 gm Styrian Goldings [3.70 %] (30 min) Hops 5.8 IBU
20.00 gm Hallertauer, New Zealand [4.00 %] (30 minHops 4.0 IBU
30.00 gm Hallertauer Hersbrucker [4.00 %] (5 min) Hops 1.5 IBU
1.50 kg Sugar, Table (Sucrose) (2.0 EBC) Sugar 12.40 %
1 Pkgs Trappist Ale (White Labs #WLP500) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Light Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 10.60 kg
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Light Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
10 min Step Add 15.90 L of water at 63.3 C 55.0 C
50 min Step Add 12.72 L of water at 79.4 C 64.5 C

Notes:
------
Hop bill at bit complicated since I wanted to clear out the freezer. The 5.4% goldings is over a year old.
Overshot temp of first step (50C was planned)
Chiller cooled 30 liters in 10 min (yey!)
8-SEP-07: 1.082 - Ferment at 20C
15-SEP-07: 1.030
19-SEP-07: 1.024 - raised temp to 24C
29-SEP-07: Bottled at 1.021

Bottled my Mocha Stout this arvo, in case I make the cut. Might brew another less radical and experimental beer (Amarillo APA possibly) sometime in the next week for a backup beer. Better to be safe than sorry.

just cooling mine now...... almost 400g of hop flowers makes hop soup. Its thick and chunky with hops.

And i have to say its the best smelling beer i have had in the kettle. Its sooooooo aramatic.

just cooling mine now...... almost 400g of hop flowers makes hop soup. Its thick and chunky with hops.

And i have to say its the best smelling beer i have had in the kettle. Its sooooooo aramatic.

Count me in for a bowl of that hop soup. Sounds tasty! :D

God i hope my little mesh hop filter in the bottom of the kettle works :huh:

If it doesnt it may get messy

that SS bar is 3 inches from the bottom and they are 2 inches over to top ot it after draining.

I lost a couple of liters to the hops but it was worth it.

Its going to be a great beer........ it smells soooo good. I cant stop sniffing it.

cant wait to see what its like once its done.

Hope its good ;)

hops_after_boil_sheep_shagger__824_x_549_.jpg

that SS bar is 3 inches from the bottom and they are 2 inches over to top ot it after draining.

I lost a couple of liters to the hops but it was worth it.

Its going to be a great beer........ it smells soooo good. I cant stop sniffing it.

cant wait to see what its like once its done.

Hope its good ;)

Oh man...that just tempts me to crack out the Cascade hop flowers a mate of mine brought down from Brissie for a brew. Just waiting for the right brew to use them in.

if your going to use cascade...... use the yank stuff.

the NZ cascade is not as good. Its not a bad hop but is not as good as the yank one as far as im concerned and i dont like cascade.

these NZ hops in this beer are my fav NZ varieties after trying a lot of them. they work so well together too.

NZ hops are NZ hops. the only concession i give is the Pacific hallertau. Its NOTHING like the german hop. its spicy like cinimon and buttery smooth.

the sothern cross has a lemon citris hint to it and with 24% cohumulone in a 16% AA hop its great for bittering.

the B saaz is spicy and slightly sirtusy and the NElson Suuvin is a hop all to itsself. I used it on its own a while back and it was nice but i remember thinking it needed to be used in conjunction with other hops to shine and it seems to have worked.

Just tasted the hydromiter sample.

45 liters @ 1.070 (the hops drank a bit)

Malt is sweet and well ballenced to the hops. flavour is not in your face as i wanted. its there but it supports the malt.

the aroma is huge which is what i really wanted. I wanted it to taste good but smell BIG :)

its being firmented in the fridge to make sure no high temps are hit while its warming up.

Hey Tony,
not wanting to go off topic ( as I go completely off topic ), but do you do anything special to get your immersion chillier that clean, or is that just the effect of 1/2 litre of hop oil?

Chris

Bottled my Mocha Stout this arvo, in case I make the cut. <snip>
Muggus, you're in. You can have my spot.
I'm not going to be able to brew & bottle a whole batch and keep up my summer/xmas/new year stock at the same time.

Have a blast :)
Tim

Muggus, you're in. You can have my spot.
I'm not going to be able to brew & bottle a whole batch and keep up my summer/xmas/new year stock at the same time.

Have a blast :)
Tim
Wow! Thanks alot Tim! I'm happy to take your spot if you're not confident that you can put down a brew by then, but if you change your mind i'm happy enough to give it back to you.

Mike

Hey Tony,
not wanting to go off topic ( as I go completely off topic ), but do you do anything special to get your immersion chillier that clean, or is that just the effect of 1/2 litre of hop oil?

Chris

It lives in the kettle. Its hard plumbed it.

I take it out after each brew and give it a hose and a bit of a scrub with a green scourer but nthing flash.

Probably the hop oils making it shine.

The brew is starting to bubble ay 18 deg ATM.

Damn, that all looks good Tony.

Just put my stout together. All smelling great and into fermenter tonight. I opted for liquorice extract as I've been popping this in my stouts with pleasing results. However, as I was squeezing the little bottle, the nozzle thing proceeded to launch from the bottle and into my wort never to be seen again.{insert sound of palm smacking forehead} :eek:

Looks like I'm going to have to do a back up brew in case this turn out infected. Time to step up production...

-monkeybusiness

Well mines in the fermenter. Made it yesterday. No chilled over night. Pitched the yeast this morning

Nelson's Bastard Ale

3.5kg BB Ale
500gms Wheat Malt
500gms Caramunich II
40gms Choc Malt
30gms Roast Malt

35gms Northern Brewer (6.20% AA) @ 60 mins
15gms Nelson Sauvin (13% AA) @ 30 mins
15gms NS @ 15 mins + Whirlfloc
15gms NS @ 10 mins
22gms NS @ 0 mins

1 x Nottingham Ale yeast

Mashed @ 67 for 60 mins

SG1048.....and tasting bloody hoppy :beerbang:

mashed in the "Johnny Nash I Can See Clearly Now" Ale on Saturday. It's currently in the cube waiting to ferment.

It's called that cause i've attempted a LCBA/JS Golden/summer ale. Sing along now Its goint to be a bright bright bright sunshiney day.....

the smell of cascade & amarillo was most enjoyable on the day.

Ok, sorry guys but I am going to have to pull out (hehe) of this swap. <_<
Looks like I am going to be in between houses for the next 6-12 weeks, so the Maibock is going into a cube and to a mates house to lager till next year!

Not to sure who is next up.

Good luck to all.

DK

Updated case list.

1. Steve - Belgian Strong Ale (Duvel style)
2. Stuster - Belgian Pale Ale (probably)
3. Fatgodzilla - possibly my first AG
4. Barramundi - Dunno Yet
5. Gulpa - Dunno either
6. nifty - not sure yet
7. KillerRx4 - Oatmeal stout
9. Steve (ACT) - Nelsons Bastard Ale
10. Brewer - Unsure as Yet
11. Punter- dont know yet.
12. Kabooby- Belgian Dubbel (WLP550)
13. floppinab - can I say I don't know yet !!!
14. Josh
15. Oblomov - Belgian Dark Strong Ale
16.HomeBrewWorld.com- Unsure atm
17.Beerslayer- Unsure atm
18. goatherder - Czech Dark Lager
19. Keith
20. Trent (who will kick my arse if I dont sign him up)
21. Thommo - no idea
22. Muggas -
23. monkeybusiness
24. MVZoom - Koelsch perhaps?
25. Tony - Golden Fleece NZ IPA or "The Sheep Shagger" for short. tongue.gif
26. n00ch - No idea at the moment.
27. crozdog - NFI
28. redbeard - nfi2

Subs
1. Peve

So Peve you in?

Hey all....as its my first swap and I dont have any fancy/namby pamby label maker can I just put "9" on the lids in black marker as that is my position on the list? Does that makes sense?

Exactly what I did last time. Even though it wasn't my first time. :ph34r:

I'll try to get some labels together this time, but there's no real need, except that my bottles will look better than Steve's. :p