New to the scene.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scuba Dan

Reaction score
Hi everyone. My name is Dan and I am a complete Noob to the brewing scene. A bit about me:
I am a car nut, a muso and obviously I like beer (I have testicles so that means I am genetically predisposed to liking beer so don't have a choice), I also like wine and am a massive foodie. I like travelling to other countries when I can (time and money allowing) to experience food from different cultures and also their beer and wines as well. Over the last few years with there becoming far more boutique breweries around Oz I find myself looking for local breweries when visiting new towns instead of the local wineries I used to be on the lookout for. In the last couple of years I have "come to the dark side" of beer and am far more partial these days to stouts and porters. I have thought about brewing in the past but I never really got around to it but a couple of weeks ago I was at a restaurant in Sydney and rather than looking at the wine list I was working my way through the beer list, tasting various dark beers, then I ordered a Brewfist Spaghetti Western Stout.....damn! So after leaving I jumped on the net to find somewhere I could buy a carton but by the looks of it I would have to pay around $250 per 24 beers. Don't get me wrong, I loved it but I ain't paying that sort of money for it! This has of course led me here.
So the question is, for a complete noob who knows nothing about brewing, how do I go about making stouts and porters? Where do I start? I would like to try my hand at vanilla milk stouts, a chilli stout or porter and porters with chocolate/roasted coffee flavours. I hope those flavours aren't four letter words around here, I just know I have had these styles before and am quite partial to them.