New To Hb, Getting Some Odd Results

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rday

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to brewing; I've done 5 kits over the last couple of months, and I've had a couple of annoyingly strange results with some of my brews. Here's a quick rundown: my first kit was okay, but the fermenting temp was about 26, so taste was obviously affected.

I fermented my second kit in a tub full of water, which kept the temp around 23. This kit has been my best so far.

My next two kits (3 & 4) were an experiment brewing two sets of the same kit and a package of Coopers brew enhancer 1 each, one with kit yeast and one with safale yeast, each brewed at 20. And here's my first issue... The kit yeast beer has turned out really well, but the safale yeast is flat after about 1 month of conditioning. There is a bit of live yeast on the bottom of the bottles, but not much. I've tried inverting the bottles a few times over the past couple weeks to resuspend the yeast and see if that makes a difference and it doesn't seem to.

Now for my second problem... Kit 4 was brewed with 1 kg dextrose and 500 g malt and safale yeast, brewed at 18. OG was 1.044 and it only got down to 1.013. I even gave it a vigourous swirl at one point to see if it might help things along. An online calculator suggested it should have ended up around 1.007. I was concerned about bottle popping, so I took a reading every other day 3 times and it hadn't changed, so I bottled. I cracked one open the other day and it was green (9 days in the bottle), but pretty good. I wouldn't be two concerned with the high FG, but...

Kit 5: Cooper's Draught + BE1 + Kit yeast: OG 1.039, FG 1.015, brewed at 18.