New Brewer!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrenMcgee

Reaction score
Hey everyone

I am new to brewing and found this forum. When I say new to brewing, I should say I actually haven't even tried yet :p I want to have a go at brewing my own Mead though. Just looking for any advice, or maybe an easy recipe. I saw the JAO one which looks good, but I think for my first go I would like to try just a plain, quite sweet mead. No fruit or spices in it.

I don't really know a lot about the Gravity stuff either. What the numbers mean, what to do at what number etc.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks
Bren

Hey everyone

I am new to brewing and found this forum. When I say new to brewing, I should say I actually haven't even tried yet :p I want to have a go at brewing my own Mead though. Just looking for any advice, or maybe an easy recipe. I saw the JAO one which looks good, but I think for my first go I would like to try just a plain, quite sweet mead. No fruit or spices in it.

I don't really know a lot about the Gravity stuff either. What the numbers mean, what to do at what number etc.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks
Bren
Hi Bren

From someone who is new to brewing (not quite sure what a mead is!), I'd like to say welcome and you're heading down a rewarding path.
My advice is start basic, and work into more complex stuff. The best thing is to get a coopers kit, throw away their ingredients and use something from a home brew shop, they sell better quality kits with better yeasts.

My first attempt at the coopers kit with included ingredients was dismal. It was flat, tasteless. My second attempt was a coopers set involving a real ale malt, brew enhancer (1 or 2) and light dry extract all bought from big w. Its a nice beer that I've nearly exhausted my supply of.