New Brewer In Need Of A Hand

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisxr695

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm new to brewing and having a few probs. Wanted to get into brew for years and about a month ago i took the leap. Got a brewcraft starter kit with a tooheys extra dry style kit. Did a lot of reading on here befor i jumped in. Then got it all preped and going, got it to temp, pitched the yeast(s23 saflager) and the dry enzyme. Kept it a 12c, took 10 day to ferment +1 day to be sure. Then got my bottles preped, primed with carb drops and bottled. Kept Them in the warm livingroom. Now its 3 weeks later, grabed 2 long necks put them in the frige this morning cleaned and rised my new schooner glass's, got the kid's in bed and grabed mixed nut. Jump in front of the tv and cracked a bottle of my pride and joy. But oh no,

IT DEAD, ok not to worry grabed the other one, dead no life at all. What did i do wrong. I enjoyed brewing my beer but WOW what a kick in the ball.

Can anyone tell me if i can save it or is it DOA. Or can anyone help me find what i've done wrong. Don't think i can handle another heart braking moment like that again.

cheers
chris

If you could elaborate on IT DEAD you might get some more answers..is it flat, dead in taste, off tasting? Keeping in mind you've used a lager yeast 3 weeks is definitely a little early to tell. Some say up to 4 months...I cant comment as all my lagers are still bottle conditioning and at least 2 months away from a true tasting.