My First Meads

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KudaPucat

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to brewing

I've recently started 3 batches of mead.

Batch 1
Prepared 19/11/10
Style: JAO
Yeast: local breadshop's own brand
OG: 1142
I used navel oranges - they were the thinnest skinned variety available.

Batch 2
Prepared: 21/11/10
Style: Dry straight mead
yeast: 1/3 packet EC-1118
OG: 1085

Batch 3
Prepared: 21/11/10
Style: Sweet straight mead
yeast: 1/3 packet EC-1118
OG: 1125

I have one question: What's a 'vigorous ferment'??

Batch 1 is bubbling once every 09s
Batch 2 is bubbling once every 20s
Batch 3 is bubbling once every 14s

Is this normal? Batch 2 and 3 started on the same day, and yet have a large discrepancy in CO2 production...

Any ideas?

by 'straight mead' I mean honey yeast and water only. no nutrient... Is this a problem? should I add some?
Will batch 3 actually have some sweetness or will the EC-1118 make it dry?
With its higher sugar content, will it take FOREVER to ferment?

I have one question: What's a 'vigorous ferment'??

Batch 1 is bubbling once every 09s
Batch 2 is bubbling once every 20s
Batch 3 is bubbling once every 14s

Is this normal? Batch 2 and 3 started on the same day, and yet have a large discrepancy in CO2 production...

Any ideas?

by 'straight mead' I mean honey yeast and water only. no nutrient... Is this a problem? should I add some?
Will batch 3 actually have some sweetness or will the EC-1118 make it dry?
With its higher sugar content, will it take FOREVER to ferment?

Bubble frequency is a poor way to judge fermentation activity. If there is a slight leak between the bung and the carboy it will bubble much less than it otherwise should. The gas can also go into solution and not bubble out as much.