Mexican Cerveza

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

archie82

Reaction score
Im a newbie to home brewing and this is my first attempt at a home brew that im also going to keg in a 45 litre keg so im interested in some advice feedback so please go easy on me!

My ingredients that i'm going to use are as follows:

Coopers Mexican Cerveza x 2 tins

Coopers Dextrose x 1kg

Coopers Brew Enhancer 2 x 1kg

Would i be better off using 2 x the brew enhancers instead of 1 x brew enhancer and 1 x Dextrose?
I was planning to use the yeast included with the cerveza cans or could someone recommended a better yeast. This is my first attempt so im not expecting anything fantastic but looking at this as more of a trial run to learn from.

Any thoughts advice?

I also wanted to ask regarding the first fermentation process what would be the ideal temperature to set this at and does it have to be kept at that temperature all the time

Wat are better the heat pads or heat bands?

Also i have quite a few spare fridges at home would placing my barrel in a fridge turned off with my heat pad or band be a good idea to try to keep it at a certain constant temperature and would this work better?

Or are you able to get a heat pad that you can set the temp or something similar to be able to more accurately monitor the temperature.

Thanks in advance

Buy more malt. 1kg of dex + the 300 grams or so in the BE2, plus the 300 or so grams of maltodextrine will make for a shitty beer. For a 45 litre brew, you should consider three cans of coopers cerveza, and buy some hops for flavouring. Hops really are a must with those kits.

Unless youre in the top end of Oz, I reckon that temps will be OK. Fermentation period may be a bit longer, but be patient. No need for heating devices.