Matilda Bay - Fat Yak

Oh and mentioning it in the same sentence as LCPA -- I would. I'm not all that fond of the Fat Yak (I like the Alpha) but if they were both on tap at the same pub... I'd have one LCPA for a perfume bottle in my beer fix... then I'd drink the Yak for the rest of the night.

I'd stick with the pale unless it was a really stinking hot day, but then I might be a little biased.

I think it would be more apt comparing Fat Yak to Bright ale.

I think it took Cascade a while to adapt to brewing this one - I had a bottle of the Fat Yak yesterday that was definitely brewed in Cascade and it was good again - back nearly up to the standard it was when the Garage was getting it right.

Inconsistency should pretty much go away now that its coming out of tassie - but there might be a few old kegs etc floating around and its definitely a fresh is best kinda beer. That grassy, passionfruit / mandarin character fades pretty fast and it doesn't really have enough of a malt backbone to be "good" without the hop hit.

Mind you - blanding it down a little isn't out of target... its supposed to be a crossover beer. Matilda Bay has a full tilt, hops in your face beer... the Alpha Pale. If the Alpha is your kind of beer... then the FY isn't really even aimed at you.

Oh and mentioning it in the same sentence as LCPA -- I would. I'm not all that fond of the Fat Yak (I like the Alpha) but if they were both on tap at the same pub... I'd have one LCPA for a perfume bottle in my beer fix... then I'd drink the Yak for the rest of the night.

A quick question before I go off in another tangent but does the garage pasturise this beer? You would expect that the mass production at cascade is pasturised. Knowing not much about the reactions that affect flavour in a pasturiser you would still have to expect that it can play a part in the dullness of character.
The alpha pale always seems fresh as a daisy but for all I know that may be pasturised aswell, you would think it would simply be sterile filtered, I have no idea.

I'll give it a month or so and give it another crack. As is if lcpa and alpha where on tap next to fat yak I proberly wouldn't drink much of the yak in a long session.
Where it is good though is at places like the casino where their idea of good beer is made under license euroswill, the fat yak fits in perfectly there and I hope they continue to sell it.

I'd stick with the pale unless it was a really stinking hot day, but then I might be a little biased.

I think it would be more apt comparing Fat Yak to Bright ale.

True, I think the Yak is far more comparable to the Bright Ale - and I am also a little biased :)

A quick question before I go off in another tangent but does the garage pasturise this beer? You would expect that the mass production at cascade is pasturised. Knowing not much about the reactions that affect flavour in a pasturiser you would still have to expect that it can play a part in the dullness of character.
The alpha pale always seems fresh as a daisy but for all I know that may be pasturised aswell, you would think it would simply be sterile filtered, I have no idea.

I'll give it a month or so and give it another crack. As is if lcpa and alpha where on tap next to fat yak I proberly wouldn't drink much of the yak in a long session.
Where it is good though is at places like the casino where their idea of good beer is made under license euroswill, the fat yak fits in perfectly there and I hope they continue to sell it.

The garage is able to pasteurise 330ml bottles, and although I am not "sure" I believe that they do indeed filter and pasteurise all their (330ml) beers. I am almost 100% certain that this has been so for the Yak from day 1. A good thing too, because as has been noted here on AHB ... their 750ml bottles tend to go a bit sour after time in the bottle, so they obviously have some minor bug they can't get rid of.

I'm mostly with you, if there was Alpha on tap, the Yak wouldn't get much of a run - I like lcpa .. but I only have one or two of them in me before I stop liking it. And the Yak is quite likely to be the only acceptable beer in an otherwise bad list at many venues.

Yak is quite likely to be the only acceptable beer in an otherwise bad list at many venues.

Dropped in to the surf club for a Friday afternoon drink with my wife and bub yesterday arvo to have the old reliable coopers.

Only noticed after it was opened that Fat Yak was on tap, but hidden behind the straw dispenser.

Had I seen it, I'd have had that before a Coopers.

Certainly not my favourite beer, but a good beer from the selection at hand.

Fat Yak seems to be turning up at a lot of surf/sports clubs around where I am, meaning usual megalager drinkers might have a go, enjoy it and move onto something even better.

Smart work by MB I think.

Kev