Mashout Procedure

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Renzo

Reaction score
Gday everyone,

I've got a question about mashout volume. I've got a blichman tun with a false bottom and was wondering if anyone had any ideas on mashout procedure for single infusion in general. I've never done a mashout step before but would like to try and was wondering do I add the amount ( as calculated by beersmith) to the initial mash water at the end of the sacharification or first drain that amount then add mashout water? Or do I simply add mashout water to initial sach volume (after 60-90mins naturally) stir in - rest for 10mins, vorlauf then begin sparge?

example:
  • add 15.23L at 73 C
  • Hold for 75mins at 65.6C
  • add 9.09 at 95C ( to initial volume)
  • Stir in.
  • Hold for 10mins at 75.6C (i.e. 15.23 + 9.09 = 24.32L in tun)
  • Vorlauf 10mins.
  • begin runoff and start sparge.
I'm not asking about temps or volumes apart from the question of do I add the 9.09L to the initial 15.23L or drain the initital 15.23 then add the 9.09 and then proceed to sparge?

To clarify I also use a pump to vorlauf and have a sparge ring conected to HLT
Cheers.

add the 9.09L to the initial 15.23L

The whole idea of mashout is to increase the temperature of the whole mash to approx 76 degrees and hold it there long enough to stop all the enzyme action.

Typically, you would add enough water to hit your temp (I normally just trust beer smith to do the math and then make adjustments with the kettle where required) and then lauter once it has been at that temp for 15 mins or so (10 mins would be fine though).

Add the 9L to the 15 L then recirc then run off then sparge

do I simply add mashout water to initial sach volume (after 60-90mins naturally) stir in - rest for 10mins, vorlauf then begin sparge?