Malt Storage Under Co2?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexbrand

Reaction score
From time to time I hear about small bugs in the malt. Next friday I'll get plenty of pilsner malt. It might last for the next two years... ;)

Could it be useful to put it all in an airtight barrel and flood it with carbon dioxide to prevent bugs from eating and pissing in my malt?

Alex

Alex,

I have been storing my malt like this for 5 years, yes some of the malt is that old and appears to be ok.

Cheers! John K

Hmmm, might look into doing this.

Early this year I bought some Weyerman CaraAmber from Roy at TWOC, stored it in my grain bucket with bags of other grain.
Opened the barrel up a few weeks later and there were little white grubs everywhere. The CaraAmber was chewed to buggery, they had chewed their way out of the plastic bag and into every other bag of grain. Strange tho, but they left all the other grain alone after trying a sample of each and leaving holes in the bags(inc. CaraAroma). The only other thing they ate was the bag of Coopers DME.

Where did they come from? no idea, so I'm not gonna pin it on either Roy or Wey, coz it coulda happened anywhere in the supply chain.
Thinking they could possibly be an exotic pest from Germany, I squished every one of the buggers.

sounds like maybe weevils? They are already in most grain products (even cereal) apparently. They are microscopic eggs initially but the warm weather can cause them to hatch. And they are buggers to get rid of.

If you can keep the grain cold (like, in a fridge) it won't happen.

Watch out for the grain being moist however. :p

Nah they weren't weevils, have had them too(deliberately!*) and yeah they're hard to get rid of, easiest way I found is to soak all infected grain for a day or two to drown them, never seen one since.