keg condition, how much sugar?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moog

BIAB-ER
Reaction score
I've been BIABing now for 2 years and kegging for 1 year.
My last brew I bottled half a dozen, and kegged the remainder, The bottled ones are much nicer than whats in the keg (hoppier, crisper), the keg having been force carbed, and the bottles bottle conditioned.
Its seemed for a while that my early brews, despite my inexperience seemed a bit better than what I've produced of late.
Some people say force carbing spoils the beer slightly, and this seems to be my experience.
I know you can carbonate more slowly but this requires the keg being connected for a long time, I'm reluctant to do this in case of a small leak, then my gas bottle could empty.

I've weighed the sugar volume I use for bottling, and for 20 litres it works out at 130g.
Can anyone recommend or correct my estimate, If I were to keg condition with this next batch of Citra IIPA,

Half the sugar that you would normally use for bottling is the rule of thumb that most use for naturally carbing kegs. I recently did an APA with 60 grams of dextrose and it came out just slightly under carbed.

Ok great, thanks for the heads up, I was right to check then...
Is dex better than sugar? does it leave less sediment or anything? It would be nice if I could cut that down a bit, cos what ends up in a bottle, multiplied up to a full keg, would be quite a bit...

I doubt the sediment would multiply to that extent, although I've never naturally carbonated a keg to find out. In any case, neither dextrose nor table sugar leaves sediment, the sediment is mainly yeast.