Is Weyermanns Pilsner Malt Fully Modified

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pumpy

Pumpy's Brewery.
Reaction score
I have never used it before and unsure if I have to step the temperature or can I mash at one temp ?

pumpy :)

Yes. The Boh Pils will work in a single infusion as well (but will stand up to a decoction).

A lot of the euro breweries step mash though, if you have the ability why not give it a go. But single step mashing at 62-66C will work fine.

Hi Pumpy I have used this malt quite often and get good results with a single infusion 65-70%

Cheers,

Smashed Jaffa :)

single step mashing at 62-66C will work fine.

The gelatinisation temperature of barley malt starch is 64-67C. The low end of a single infusion mash schedule shouldn't below 64C.

With a decoction, you can use a lower rest, because the malt starch is fully gelatinised during the decottion phase, before beign added back to the enzyme rich liqour for its rest.

Cheers
MAH

The gelatinisation temperature of barley malt starch is 64-67C. The low end of a single infusion mash schedule shouldn't below 64C.

With a decoction, you can use a lower rest, because the malt starch is fully gelatinised during the decottion phase, before beign added back to the enzyme rich liqour for its rest.

Cheers
MAH

Well, i'm going to argue that a 62C mash temp is fine because i've done it 3 or 4 times for Kolsch and i got 80-82% every time. Warner's Kolsch book recommends the same thing, for a long beta-amylase rest. George Fix recommends the old 40-60-70 schedule which seemed to give good results for him, even if the starch "wasn't gelatinised" as the science book would recommend.

Anyway getting off topic from the original post now, back to your scheduled programming...

Thanks Guys for your help .