Improvised Grain Mills

270win

GDay all,

Got some partials in mind to do and was thinking of how to crack grain without a mill and without the tedious task of using tea towels and rolling pins etc. etc.

How do you think I would go with one of those old school meat mincers that you clamp to a bench and crank by hand?

I know that would more cut than crack but would it be good enough and achieve a similar thing?

Hey 270win, whereabouts in Adelaide are you? If you are down South then
I would be happy to crack some grain in my PhilMill for you when needed.

C&B

ditto for inner Western on a crankandstein.

Cheers guys, I am out north Gepps Cross, so south might be a bit out of the way for me.

Was going to have a go this afternoon but may take up your offer in the near future enoch if thats cool as Mile End isnt too far for me.

Either this evening or Sunday arvo would be fine.

Someone closer to you may come out of the woodwork before the day is out .

Where did you buy the grain from? Take it back there and ask them to crush it for you. I reckon Bill at Brewmakers Holden Hill would do it.