Imperial Pale Ale or "Not quite a Landslide Pale Ale"

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Auzimon3

Reaction score
Hi,

Im very new to home brew as my first creation is still in the fermenter.

It was called "not quite a Landslide" as my brew day was the day after the federal election.

The recipe is for "Imperial pale ale" from the "Extreme Brewing" book by Sam Caglione, with some hot tips from Palmers fantastic website.

I decided to miss the kits and go straight into an extract and specialty grains style set up. So far the results are promising, I hope to bottle on the weekend.

Most fun i have had so far as a home brewer was setting up my fermenting fridge with an STC-1000, The instructions from several places on the internet and AHB in particular were great.

Cheers Ric

Welcome Ric,

Sounds like you are going in well-informed :) Chances are your beer will be pretty damn good!

Excellent!

On track from the beginning. No turning back now.

Enjoy the brewing and the site, with all it has to offer.

Martin

I have just finished bottling my first beer.

I had a very stressful time, especially with siphoning, even though I practised. I ended up splashing a bit of sanitiser into the bottling bucket and about a quarter pint of Ale all over the kitchen but i managed to bulk prime and fill 23 x 750 ml PET bottles with my "not quite a Landslide pale ale". It tastes fantastic even before bottle conditioning. I had a pint or so while i was bottling and I would say the @ 6% ABV I calculated was about right.

OG was 1.060
checked gravity on day 7 and got 1.014
FG today, day 14 also got 1.014

So i guess she was pretty much done last week.

Its going to be a battle to stop myself drinking it all before the 2-3 weeks of bottle conditioning the recipe suggests is up.

Cheers
Ric :chug: