I Am Brand New To Brewing, Any Help Appreciated

Youtube. Seriously.

There's about a gazilion and a half in-depth videos on how to make beer on there.

Hell, if you want to know how to retap a minced sparkplug thread, it's there too. Replace the rear speakers in your car? There.

Youtube is the place to learn stuff. Last week I learned I could be both revolted and turned on at the same time by a young girl's eyebrows.

yep utube does hold the weird and weirder doesnt it

B) hi mate...that sounds like a cool thing to do, I too am new at this after having left it for 15 yrs, when I first started, and what I have done is to use some good premade kits, which I have bought at Daves Brew Shop in North Sydney, and they are very helpful there and I am finding that having started with 4 Fermenters, there is enough work in sterilizing the fermenters and then keeping the place clean, and then 10 to 14 days later, gathering bottles, sterilizing those, preparing for a bulk prime, which I keep one fermenter (fermenter no 5), available to do that in ie putting the dextrose in there and letting the fermented liquid from the fermenter gently, using a clear pipe, let the liquid to into that and then using another shorter pipe with the bottling valve fill the bottles, then cap them and then store them and then clean the fermenter to start another batch, and so to keep my motivation up, I have found if I was making it all from scratch I would have lost the motivation by now. I suggest if you have never done this before, start with a few batches of using kits, such as the Coopers English Bitter, with Caramalt and Fuggles hops, all available at Dave's Shop or other outlets I am sure and see if you still have the motivation to do it from scratch down the track. If it starts becoming a chore and not fun anymore, then people drop the whole thing, so going with the premade kits is a great way to start, I recon. Does this give you some insight? feel free to reply no worries ok. George. I am in Frenchs Forest in Sydney you are welcome to come over and see how I do it, the best way to learn as I did mate.

Hi, I am an australian who is brand new to brewing, I have only just put my first batch in, I really want to make my brews from scratch, e.g grow the ingred and use so would love to get some advice on the whole process, thanks

B) hi mate...that sounds like a cool thing to do, I too am new at this after having left it for 15 yrs, when I first started, and what I have done is to use some good premade kits, which I have bought at Daves Brew Shop in North Sydney, and they are very helpful there and I am finding that having started with 4 Fermenters, there is enough work in sterilizing the fermenters and then keeping the place clean, and then 10 to 14 days later, gathering bottles, sterilizing those, preparing for a bulk prime, which I keep one fermenter (fermenter no 5), available to do that in ie putting the dextrose in there and letting the fermented liquid from the fermenter gently, using a clear pipe, let the liquid to into that and then using another shorter pipe with the bottling valve fill the bottles, then cap them and then store them and then clean the fermenter to start another batch, and so to keep my motivation up, I have found if I was making it all from scratch I would have lost the motivation by now. I suggest if you have never done this before, start with a few batches of using kits, such as the Coopers English Bitter, with Caramalt and Fuggles hops, all available at Dave's Shop or other outlets I am sure and see if you still have the motivation to do it from scratch down the track. If it starts becoming a chore and not fun anymore, then people drop the whole thing, so going with the premade kits is a great way to start, I recon. Does this give you some insight? feel free to reply no worries ok. George. I am in Frenchs Forest in Sydney you are welcome to come over and see how I do it, the best way to learn as I did mate.

When you get sick of "gathering bottles, sterilizing those, preparing for a bulk prime, which I keep one fermenter (fermenter no 5), available to do that in ie putting the dextrose in there and letting the fermented liquid from the fermenter gently, using a clear pipe, let the liquid to into that and then using another shorter pipe with the bottling valve fill the bottles, then cap them and then store them and then clean the fermenter to start another batch, and so to keep my motivation up" consider kegging ;)

will save you a huge amount of time and effort. You will probably find one day you just can't be arsed getting fermenter #5 out to bottle that batch.... when that happens... its time to get into kegging

Once you're into kegging... it makes sense to maximize the quality of your beer... and that's ag :)

Sarah, girl with a funny talent............or some shit like that. She is 14 and cute as a button, her daddy better get out the shotty as she is worldwide now and dirty old bugger like Nick and myself obviously enjoy watching :ph34r:

Sorry about the link, I am a partial technophobe.

When you get sick of "gathering bottles, sterilizing those, preparing for a bulk prime, which I keep one fermenter (fermenter no 5), available to do that in ie putting the dextrose in there and letting the fermented liquid from the fermenter gently, using a clear pipe, let the liquid to into that and then using another shorter pipe with the bottling valve fill the bottles, then cap them and then store them and then clean the fermenter to start another batch, and so to keep my motivation up" consider kegging ;)

will save you a huge amount of time and effort. You will probably find one day you just can't be arsed getting fermenter #5 out to bottle that batch.... when that happens... its time to get into kegging

Once you're into kegging... it makes sense to maximize the quality of your beer... and that's ag :)

sweet mate tell me more about this kegging thing...I am using one litre bottles at the moment and the advantage as I perceive it right now, and I am open to change, is that I believe I can keep it for 2 yrs or so and each bottle has its own character...plus I have no space to put kegs in the fridge...and how can the beer taste better in kegs? thanks mate...George

and how can the beer taste better in kegs?

Provided your recipe, fermentation, and sanitation are up to scratch, it shouldn't taste any different to keg a beer as to bottle it.

BUT - the lack of washing bottles for a whole batch as opposed to one keg sure as hell makes it taste better! :D

Provided your recipe, fermentation, and sanitation are up to scratch, it shouldn't taste any different to keg a beer as to bottle it.

BUT - the lack of washing bottles for a whole batch as opposed to one keg sure as hell makes it taste better! :D

What about bottle priming and the bottled beer being slightly higher in alco%? Does that change the flavour at all? Or so minimal as to not be noticable?

I bottle by the way and have not tried a comparison with a kegged vs bottled beer of the same variety

What about bottle priming and the bottled beer being slightly higher in alco%? Does that change the flavour at all? Or so minimal as to not be noticable?

I bottle by the way and have not tried a comparison with a kegged vs bottled beer of the same variety

the purists out there will probably tell you it matters, but to my (relatively educated palette) it's bugger all.

I've done lots of kegged vs bottled beer same recipes that have come out tasting different, but i can always trace the difference back to something about the fermentation, hitting (or not hitting) my targets, etc. and therefore should result in a different beer. Once consistant control is gained on your own brewery, they should come out for all intents and purposes, PRETTY MUCH identical.

your mileage may vary....

I think kegs taste different to bottles.

Theories I have (without any scientific evidence):
Larger volumes of beer mature/taste different to smaller volumes
Yeast growing/fermenting in the bottle modifies the taste.
Cooling the keg quicker as opposed to leaving at room temperature for a while also modifies the flavour.

I doubt they are huge changes in flavour but I think they add up to make a noticable change.

Edit: Especially noticable in some commercials beers on tap vs bottle, but this could also be different batches / poor handling I guess.

I hear you mate hahahaha yes it gets a bit or a lot of a chore ey

How does 'I am brand new to brewing' warrant a recommendation to buy kegs and a kegging system?

Guy wants to know how to make beer first. Let him/her worry about the expensive but easy dispensation apparatus later.

Keezwitch if you are really interested in making beer from scratch you will get a lot of info here.
Watching someone do it will demystify.
Also reading the all grain section of how to brew (read all of it. Not evewrything is perfect but it does contain mostly good info).

You can do it without spending hundreds of dollars and without having a specialist science degree.

You should tell every commercial brewery ever to lift their game then.

didnt mind the discussion on kegging, love learning, although got a bit lost but no worries, I am a she by the way, and i am finding all the info great, and yes i will experiment with canned stuff so i can learn about the basics and tastes, also will give me plenty of time to grow stuff to brew with and experiment with, I also plan to experiment with canned stuff and add extras to change flavours, local brew shop guy suggested i make small batches for experiments, good idea that way if they flop and i give them to chickens and ducks (soak their bread in it) i wont have too many drunken fowl at once :lol: . thanks for all the help.

You can get heaps of home brew books from www.bookdepository.co.uk. They are half the price and free postage too ( takes a week or two to arrive).

9780778802686.jpg
I bought this one which was quite helpful when starting out.