How Long Until My Yeast Is Gone?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jojai

Reaction score
I received a parcel of 3 liquid yeast smack packs today. One was already starting to swell when I unwrapped it (or I could have 'smacked' it while unwrapping it, I'm not sure as it was pretty swollen when i noticed and I've never used smack packs before to know how long they take).

Anyway, how long do I have before I have to use the yeast?

And secondly, as I'm awaiting grain from the SA bulk buy and Beerbelly have gone AWOL, where, close to Adelaide city should I get enough grain for this one batch?

Or is there a better way of preserving the yeast for a week or so?

Kind regards,
Joseph :)

I received a parcel of 3 liquid yeast smack packs today. One was already starting to swell when I unwrapped it (or I could have 'smacked' it while unwrapping it, I'm not sure as it was pretty swollen when i noticed and I've never used smack packs before to know how long they take).

Anyway, how long do I have before I have to use the yeast?

And secondly, as I'm awaiting grain from the SA bulk buy and Beerbelly have gone AWOL, where, close to Adelaide city should I get enough grain for this one batch?

Or is there a better way of preserving the yeast for a week or so?

Kind regards,
Joseph :)

It might not be popped (smacked) can you feel the nutrient pillow inside? Sometimes the packs will swell if they are a bit old of have been warm. Just whack em in the fridge, or smack and wait. If you are making a starter, depending on how big a starter you want (how many times you want to step it up) it can take up to a week before it's ready for pitching.

Screwy