How Do You Fill Your Kegs?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the_yobbo

Reaction score
I'm new to kegs and all, and all I've read about filling kegs is using a hose from the tap into the keg itself. However, after reading another thread (regarding filters) I noticed someone had connected the fermenter tap directly to the beer out post.

Connecting to the beer out post obviously allows the keg lid to be on and sealed, and the pressure release valve open for the displaced air/CO2.

I've always found raking hoses a little dodgy since I find that I'm always forced to hold the outside of them somewhere that is later submerged in beer. Having a hose straight to be beer post would eliminate this possible cause of infection.

So, I'm wondering if this is a common practice by some/most/all? Additionally, is the standard 5mm gas/beer line the right diameter to fit snuggly to the fermenter tap out, and also large enough to allow beer to flow at a reasonable rate under gravity?

Cheers

silicone hose is good as it's quite floppy and curls nicely at the bottom of the keg. Once the initial swirl has happened, the keg will then fill quietly and sedately. The most important thing is to sit in a position where you can keep an eye on the gas in short 'post' to make sure that the beer doesn't get up that far. Torch is handy.

Edit, and no no no don't have a hose that fits inside the fermenter tap, :wacko: get one that fits outside it for perfect flow. No brainer.

I chill beer in fermenter once finnished fermenting.... to 4 deg c for a few days min.

I then dump it in a keg via silicon hose

I then pump it from this keg vial a 1 micron filter at 25kpa to another keg