Home Brew Enthusiasts Vs Swillers

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajdougall

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing and have been trying to strike up interesting home brew confersations with people I know. Just thought I would share my experiences.

A bloke I work with proudly told me he had done 60 brews. I thought great, and quizzed him. He then went on to say he has done Coopers Larger as per instructions for all sixty brews because he likes it. I guess you can't argue with that logic.

Two blokes I play golf with proudly tell me after fermenting a Toohey's kit as per instructions they top up the fermenter so they can bottle 70 stubbies instead of sixty. More value for money. I guess you can't argue with that logic either.

Another bloke told me how he allways uses clear plastic PET bottles. I asked him if he worried about the flavour being spoiled by sunlight and he said no I drink them before that can happen. Yep, can't argue with that logic either.

So thanks to AHB for bringing together the enthusiasts rather than the swillers.

PS they are great blokes even though they are swillers!

Do what makes you happy. You can do a lot worse than that.

I suppose you can get used to drinking anything , there are plenty of homebrews made from a can which are quite drinkable, The keys to making a descent drop of beer even from a can, is :

1)l using a good quality liquid yeast
2) good temperature control of the Fermentation process .

We all start somewhere some are happy with our lot .

Some wish to progress to

Extract brewing where you have more control over the recipe or

All grain brewing which offers more body and flavour to your beer however it involves more investment in equipment.