Hi I Am New To Brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PhilipB

Reaction score
HI all,

My name is Philand I am new to brewing.

I have my first batch on the cooker so to speak hope things will be ready for the weekend for bottling and then resting for a few weeks or more to improve.

I was a bit concerned for a few days because I identified that my container is letting air in around the rubber bung for the air lock. The plastic airlock as a moulding line in it, so I think a small sand to get rid of the ridge will help the next batch.

I bought a Brew Kit from 'HomeBrew Store' with an Australian Larger.

I do have one question though:

Do I wait for all activity to cease ie bubbling before bottling or do I wait for consistant SG over a couple of days?

CHeers,

Phil

and then wait for 5 more days for the yeast to clean up after itself and to clear a bit before bottling.

and then wait for 5 more days for the yeast to clean up after itself and to clear a bit before bottling.

Ok.

So I put it in last saturday (29th Oct), take readings Sat (5th Nov)/ Sun (6 Nov) and leave.. take reading on Friday (11th) / Sat (12th) the week after and if consistant bottle Sunday (13th)? Reasonable plan?

That line in your airlock is supposed to be there.. don't remove it.

It is designed to give you an idea of where the water should be filled to inside the airlock.

Getting rid of it will do nothing for your beer.

Ok.

So I put it in last saturday (29th Oct), take readings Sat (5th Nov)/ Sun (6 Nov) and leave.. take reading on Friday (11th) / Sat (12th) the week after and if consistant bottle Sunday (13th)? Reasonable plan?
Sounds good, Sunday is a great day for bottling beer.

Get yourself a bottle of something different youve not tried before and swig on it while bottling and remind yourself of how much