Hi From N/E Victoria Newbie

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nigelfromoz

Reaction score
I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce myself and let you know about my home brew activity,firstly my name (as can probably be guessed ) is Nigel,I live in a little town in N/E Victoria called Eskdale,it's about 70km's S/E of Wodonga,I'm a chef by trade but at the moment I make my living fixing computers,I run a small business from home and sometimes have a few quiet days which I spend either in the garden or on the net.
Recently I purchased a Coopers Home Brew Kit from Big W ,when I bought the kit I purchased extra cans of concentrate and one of them was Coopers Ginger Beer.
The kit sat in my office doing nothing for a few months till a month or so ago when I decided to make my first brew,I decided to make the ginger beer first but because I don't like anything too sweet decided to add a little something extra to the instructions,I added 2 lemons cut in quarters,a 1cm slice of fresh ginger ,I also added 1/2 cup of white sugar dissolved in 1/2 cup of warm lemon juice and added this to the fermenter.

I let it ferment for 8 days which was how long it took to get a stable FG reading of 1.003 ,as a beginner I neglected to take an initial reading at the start so can't really calculate the final alcohol content , it has a nice kick but also a bit of tang which is lovely and after a few weeks in the bottle it tastes great,I will definitely be making this one again.

This is a great forum with heaps of interesting stuff and I look forward to being part of it and hope my contributions are considered worthwhile.
Cheers
N'oz

Welcome Nigel.