Help - started first brew but hydrometer broken

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Last night I started my very first brew but found the hydrometer was broken, so I have no OG reading. What are the implications of this? Should I still get one to find out when fermentation has stopped? Any advice appreciated, complete newbie.

[I'm doing Mangrove Jack's starter kit with Gold Lager and Kveik]

Only one or two?
I must be the odd one out. I've NEVER broken a hydrometer (have broken a thermometer though). Instead, I break the tubes they come in. They get squashed or burnt/melted or whatever.

I've got about 8-9 of the standard saccharometer type (plus an alcoholometer), but none of the original tubes.

I think we all remember the starting off brewing period. The absolute feeling that we were stuffing things up and it will all turn out bad. Lucky you're in a big city and can just go and buy another hydrometer or 2. Or in you are a real klutz, buy a hydrometer factory. If I had to brew without a hydrometer, I'd wait 14 days and if there's no activity, proceed to package. But if I had never brewed, I wouldn't know what to look for. Get another hydrometer and go by its readings.

I don't use a hydrometer anymore I use a refractometer so easy and uses a few drops of wort instead of filling the tube. It also allows for a safer extraction of the wort, I just remove the bubbler and use a thin tube through the bubbler hole to extract some liquid. I use a Brix refractometer and use the refractometer calculator on the nNorthern Brewer site. Sooooo much simpler.