Hello from SA

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlpacaBloke

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Checking in from the Fleurieu in South Australia on a miserable rainy day

Not a complete newbie - I'm still bottling from my trusty plastic fermenters but I have progressed to experimenting with mixed grain and concentrate - does that qualify me for P plates or do I need to do my first all grain brew first?

I'm a pom originally so got into brewing because, as a campaign for real ale member for many years back in the old country, I was having a hard time finding commercial beers that hit the spot - it you can't buy it, make it.

The holy grail for me would be a Deuchars Caledonian IPA clone, not how you get it in bottles, not even as I've had it in pubs, but as I remember it back in 2002 as supreme champion winner at the British Beer Festival (even if I did make myself sick on pork scratchings on the day).

I'm not even thinking of attempting that until I'm a lot more proficient at the craft - it just might be a life's work....

Finally, if you've not seen it - anyone got a sodastream? :wacko: http://bit.ly/fizzybeer

Welcome AlpacaBloke. Nice to see an SA brewer here.

Plenty of great info here and I'm sure if you are wanting to move to AG, that you will, like me, do so on the information of this forum. I was an extract brewer when I joined (and a bad one at that) and not that long has passed in between but I can make my own beer. If Deuchars Caledonian IPA (great beer BTW) is your holy grail then this is the place to learn how to be good enough to attempt it (heck, you'll probably beat it).

It's a slippery slope though!

Thanks for the welcome!

Trying to decide what the next logical step on the journey is - BIAB or Kegging