Head Dosent Last On Brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grantmb

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am just new to brewing. I bought the Tooheys micro home brew kit to kick off with.

The brew has been bottled for a week and a half now. The first longneck has been tested. When I poured it into the glass there was a decent size head but it then disappeared after about 5 mins. The glass has been washed in hot water only. The beer remained carbonated for the entire time it was in glass.

Is this expected or have I gone wrong somewhere??

Cheers
Grant

What ingredients did you use?

Beers with a decent proportion of adjuncts (such as brew enhancers, sugars, dextrose, etc) are prone to being fairly thin-bodied, which results in low head retention. Head retention can be improved by steeping crystal or caramel malt and adding the liquid to the brew, or by using less adjuncts and more malt extract (either liquid malt extract or dry malt extract).

Does it taste good?

Cheers and welcome.

as your just starting out, using a bit of wheat malt extract, instead of steeping crystal, in your brews should help the heah retention. Using crystal is the better method though.

Hi All,
I am just new to brewing. I bought the Tooheys micro home brew kit to kick off with.

The brew has been bottled for a week and a half now. The first longneck has been tested. When I poured it into the glass there was a decent size head but it then disappeared after about 5 mins. The glass has been washed in hot water only. The beer remained carbonated for the entire time it was in glass.

Cheers
Grant