Goodbye Bronwyn

Not really if you look at history of its use and people reclaiming insults like poof, ****, ****** or ***.

Not really at all.

Don't see too many white people sobbing that they can't call someone a ****** any more. However, just about every rap song has it in the lyrics.

"Reclaiming insults" as you call it, seems to have empowered the crack dealing, ***** raping, cop killing, mutha *******, '*****', hip hop 'artists' who seem to be the only ones using the term nowadays.

More power to them I say.

Yep. That's a great summary of the reclamation of derogatory terms. Nothing stereotypical whacked in for convenience, no sir.

I know I should do better but it's late, I'm tired and I feel intelligent people should be able to use critical thinking to work this out for themselves without hands being held.

You work out why it's ok for an italian to use the word wog with some affection but not so great coming from me unless he's my best mate.

manticle said:
**** ten years. Give them 3 months probation like a lot of workplaces. Perform or you're out, no pension till you serve a full term.
Probationary work terms don't work like that any more, I had to front the Fair Work Commission over just that, you can't just give someone a week in lieu and tell them to **** off, the commission decides what they get and how nicely you have to say **** off.

Black Devil Dog said:
Don't see too many white people sobbing that they can't call someone a ****** any more. However, just about every rap song has it in the lyrics.

"Reclaiming insults" as you call it, seems to have empowered the crack dealing, ***** raping, cop killing, mutha *******, '*****', hip hop 'artists' who seem to be the only ones using the term nowadays.

More power to them I say.
manticle said:
Yep. That's a great summary of the reclamation of derogatory terms. Nothing stereotypical whacked in for convenience, no sir.

I know I should do better but it's late, I'm tired and I feel intelligent people should be able to use critical thinking to work this out for themselves without hands being held.

You work out why it's ok for an italian to use the word wog with some affection but not so great coming from me unless he's my best mate.
manticle said:
I'm sure you listen to heaps of rap.
Black Devil Dog said:
You've nailed it.

That's exactly what they do.
manticle said:
Who's this ubiquitous 'they' then?
BDD:
ImageUploadedByAussie Home Brewer1440194187.068590.jpg

Lemon said:
Remember half of the populations have below average intelligence and we make them vote.
Not quite true, in fact.
It's more than half who are below the average, simply because the highly intelligent are often well above the average, and it takes a lot more of the below average numbnuts to balance that out.
There's your explanation of how the pollies get elected and largely get away with what they do.

manticle said:
Who's this ubiquitous 'they' then?
Enough here for ten rappers and a Tarantino movie. Almost.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pqJJtIFuLTg

Cashin seven digit cheques an still breakin necks!..word..

warra48 said:
Not quite true, in fact.
It's more than half who are below the average, simply because the highly intelligent are often well above the average, and it takes a lot more of the below average numbnuts to balance that out.
There's your explanation of how the pollies get elected and largely get away with what they do.
That depends on whether you use mean or median to determine the average. Are you suggesting politicians are highly intelligent? Although rat cunning does require some intellect, it doesn't require the individual to be highly intelligent. Many of our current politicians can't even get it right when trying to be a cunning rat.

Or, are you suggesting it's us dimwitted numbnuts of the general populace who are too stupid to stop politicians turning politics into a farce?

Dave70 said:
Enough here for ten rappers and a Tarantino movie. Almost.

Cashin seven digit cheques an still breakin necks!..word..

What is detective Fin up to these days?

goomboogo said:
That depends on whether you use mean or median to determine the average. Are you suggesting politicians are highly intelligent? Although rat cunning does require some intellect, it doesn't require the individual to be highly intelligent. Many of our current politicians can't even get it right when trying to be a cunning rat.

Or, are you suggesting it's us dimwitted numbnuts of the general populace who are too stupid to stop politicians turning politics into a farce?
I think the whole problem is that Joe Public is so jaded with the whole political sphere that they just dont give a ****. They know at the end of the day a politician will get voted in and do the same thing as the last one.

When it comes election time it just ends up a wall of "Blah Blah Blah" from side A and "Blah Blah Blah" from side B

Any wonder why voters just walk into the polling booth and go **** it and draw a flaccid ***** on the ballot paper