GDay... My name is Stu and i love beer!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Borntobattle

Reaction score
Gday fellow beer beer lovers..

My name is Stu and I'm new to brewing. I am a massive beer lover and i am stoked that i have taken the step into brewing my own goodness..
I have put my first can brew down (Morgans Australian Larger) on Monday 1/8/16 and now it 7/8/16.
I'm just a bit worried about the clarity of the beer when i test it (cloudy). My brew also has heaps of bubbles and I am worried about bottling. last 2 tests with my hydrometer were around 1013.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Cheers Stu.

My name isn't stu but I love beer too, the beer will clear in time and from the reading and bubbles I can tell you it's not ready to bottle yet, leave it for another week and test again!

Hi Stu,

If your last two tests have been stable, then it's done. Bottle it & don't worry. 1013 is a little high, but over time, you'll nail it.

Make another...& another. The way to learn is to do lots of batches. Learn from the differences.

Have fun with it.

Welcome to the vortex!!!

Martin

Yeh bloody cheers hey.. I'll do another test tomorrow and if it's the same I'll go ahead with it. If it is still at 1013 what would explain the high reading?

Welcome to AHB Stu.

Don't worry about your beers clarity as your yeast will take some time to clean up your beer. Personally leave my beer for at least two weeks to give the yeast time to clean up the brew. Also, a bit of cloudiness is fine.
Just leave it alone and bottle after two weeks and leave the bottled beer alone for at least a month to give it time to age a bit.

Making beer takes time and you have to step back and let the yeast do its magic at a stable temperature.