First sour beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Muz

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a couple of years now and I want to take the plunge into sour beers. I've been reading Milk the Funk Wiki and I thought I'd give their Berliner a go:

http://www.milkthefunk.com/wiki/Berliner_Weissbier#Milk_the_Funk_Berliner_Weissbier_Recipe

A couple of recipe questions:

WTF is Floor-Malted Bohemian Wheat and what would be a good sub as I can't find it in Australian stores. Would any Malted wheat do or is there something special that the floor imparts?

For bacteria they call for Lactobacillus Blend (brevis, delbrueckii, and plantarum) from Omega Yeast. Again, this doesn't seem to be easily available in Australia. Is this something I can sub?... just noticed they do note you can use Goodbelly or other probiotics. Should I just go into a health food store and ask for a probiotic? Do I still need to do the starter?

Finally, I know its recommended to have a separate fermenter etc when using brett. I assume it's find to use my usual fermenter/keg with lacto so long as I give it a good clean with PBW after?

Thanks in advance for your help.

I've had good results just by using Inner Health Plus IBS support pills. I went that way because there weren't any fast souring lactos on the market a couple of years back. These days there's probably fast souring products from all the labs. The IBS pills are a bit expensive compared to a yeast pack, so if you don't take them regularly they might go bad before you use them again for another beer. They were pretty no fuss, though. I think I threw them in around 40C or so and wrapped my kettle in a sleeping bag and left it until the next day.